April 2016 Favorites!

April Faves

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Got anything fun planned this weekend?

Today’s post is going to be one of my favorites to do…. monthly favorites! And this time will obviously be my favorites for the month of April.

Got lots to talk about, so grab yourself a beverage and a tasty treat and let’s get the party started!

Makeup Revolution Pro Fix Oil Control Makeup Fixing Spray

IMG_9253

I just reviewed this here on the blog earlier this week (click here to read if you missed it). I am really liking this setting spray a lot. It feels nice and refreshing when you spray it on and it does a good job locking in my makeup without making my face feel tight.

Milani ColorStatement Lipstick in Rose Femme

IMG_9302

I rediscovered this lipstick in my stash and was reminded of how much I love it. I’ve grabbed for it several times this month. It’s a gorgeous kind of dark dusty rose shade that has great pigmentation, feels comfortable on the lips and has great staying power too.

Urban Decay Sheer Revolution Lipstick in Rapture

IMG_8594

I’ve been grabbing for this lipstick a lot this month too. I wore it when I saw Duran Duran/Chic and got a few compliments on it from some friends. It’s a very pretty dusty mauve shade that looks great on its own or you can amp up the color by wearing a coordinating lip pencil underneath. It also has relatively decent staying power for a sheer lipstick too.

Too Faced Hangover Primer

IMG_8319

It seemed almost every weekend this month I was super busy and barely home. As a result, I didn’t get as much sleep as I’d like, but this primer has saved my butt time and again buy helping make my skin look more recharged.

Soap & Glory Sugar Crush Body Buttercream

IMG_9307

This stuff smells sooooooooooooo freaking amazing. It’s smells like drinking margaritas on the beach. I love it. I love citrus scents and the lime scent this has just gives me life every time I open the jar. And the amazing scent notwithstanding, the actual product does a great job making my skin feel soft and hydrated without leaving it feeling greasy or sticky. Why does hardly anyone talk about this stuff?

Rimmel Kate Moss Lip Conditioning Lip Balm

IMG_9309

I kind of grabbed this on a whim because I was curious about it and I’m glad I purchased it. This is actually a pretty good lip balm! It smells really good (smells sweet, like candy) and it feels really nice on the lips and helps them stay soft and conditoned. It also makes for a great base for under lip pencils/lipsticks/lipgloss. I keep this in my purse but I might purchase another to keep at home.

Makeup Geek Duochrome Shadow in Blacklight/ColourPop Super Shock Shadow in Hustle

IMG_9303

IMG_9306

I’ve been wearing these two shadows together and I absolutely LOVE the result. I’ll put Hustle in the crease and outer V and then Blacklight on the inner part of my lid. This combo makes for an absolutely gorgeous dramatic purple eye that’s unique because of the purple/blue finish of Blacklight. I actually just happened to wear this combo on the day Prince died, which was kind of spooky, but became an instant tribute to him.

I have some non-beauty favorites again this month…

Epcot/Starbucks “You Are Here” Mug

IMG_9300

IMG_9301

I picked this mug up at the Starbucks at Epcot. I’ve had my eye on it for over a year and finally was able to get my hands on one. This is part of Starbucks’ “You Are Here” mug series. They have ones for the other Disney parks (Magic Kingdom, Animal Kingdom, Hollywood Studios) as well as ones for different cities. I love how big it is (could probably use this for soup as well as coffee).

Green Tea Kit Kats

IMG_9308

I know you’re probably thinking… what? Just hear me out. In Japan, they make all sorts of crazy and awesome Kit Kat flavors. A friend of mine over there sent me some Cookies & Cream ones a few years ago and I loved them. When I found out the main shop at the Japan pavilion at Epcot now sells the Green Tea ones, I had to get a bag to try. I love green tea just about anything. These green tea Kit Kats are really awesome. The green tea taste is there but it’s not overpowering. My boyfriend though it tasted like a regular Kit Kat at first, but then caught the green tea and was like “Whoa! Ok that’s different.”

Starbucks Iced Caramelized Honey Latte

Yes this is my Duffy bear posing with the drink. And yes I had them write his name on the cup because I thought it would be hilarious.

Yes this is my Duffy bear posing with the drink. And yes I had them write his name on the cup because I thought it would be hilarious.

So this is a new drink from Starbucks and I’m already hooked. I’ve had 3 this month already. You can also get it hot or as a Frappuccino. My preferred way is the iced latte and I think this may be my new favorite drink from Starbucks (I usually go for the iced caramel macchiato). I highly recommend giving this a try next time you’re at Starbucks.

Duran Duran – “Pressure Off” featuring Nile Rodgers and Janelle Monae

This song isn’t brand new. It came out around 6 months ago. To be honest, I didn’t really like it at first. But after hearing it live earlier this month (bonus is I got to see/hear them play it live with Nile Rodgers), it suddenly gelled with me and I’ve been totally grooving to it ever since.  It’s one of the best songs they’ve done in the last maybe 10 years. And the video is fun too (and I admit seeing John Taylor say “Fuck You” and that little grin at the beginning just about did me in… yes I’m a JT fangirl).

And that’s it for my April favorites! What were some of your favorites from this past month? Tell me about them below in the comments.

As always thank you all so much for reading and your support. I hope you have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you guys again on Monday with a new post! 🙂

10 thoughts on “April 2016 Favorites!

  1. That’s it. I need that Rimmel lip balm! I didn’t know it’d look so cute too.
    And wow, I love that combo of the duochrome eye shadow over the maroon shade – totally transforms it!
    I’ve had the green tea Kit Kat – they sell it in the Asian market near us. It’s yummy! I can’t wait to try all kinds of crazy snacks in Japan!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The ColourPop shadow is actually a matte purple (the photo makes it look maroon for some reason).

      And I am addicted to Japanese sweets. Pocky, Hi-Chews, Ramune drinks (in glass bottles sealed with a marble), Kasugi fruit gummies… I WANT THEM ALL!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

