First Impressions: Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet Smooth-Effect Makeup

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Got anything fun planned this weekend?

I got another foundation first impressions for you guys today. This time it’s on the Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet Smooth-Effect Makeup. You ready? Let’s get going!

Chanel Foundation

I got a sample of this foundation the same day I got a sample of the Diorskin Forever foundation (which I did a first impressions of earlier this week – you can read that here if you missed it).

Let’s start with some product info (direct from the Chanel website):

Perfection has met its matte. Lightweight and oil-free, the unique formula of this fluid foundation provides a long-lasting, matte-velvet finish. Soft-focus pigments smooth and perfect the skin for a flawless look that lasts all day.

I was matched with the shade Beige 30, which was pretty darn good match. The consistency of this foundation is more on the liquidy side. When applied, it blends out nice with both a damp beauty blender and a brush. One layer gives medium coverage for me. I applied a little extra to the areas where I need more coverage and it didn’t look cakey. It doesn’t dry super fast, so you got time to blend everything nicely. It does dry to a soft matte finish, which looks really nice.

So let’s talk about wear time. It claims to last all day. However, after just a few hours of wear, I’ve noticed it breaks down some on the end of my nose and on my chin. A quick touchup fixes that. It lasts much longer on the normal parts of my face (I got 8-10 hours of wear in those areas with no touch-ups). So if your entire face is oily-prone, this foundation may not be a good match for you (for the record, I always wear a mattifying primer in my T-zone since that’s where I get super oily, especially my nose and chin).

While I overall really liked how this foundation made my skin look, since it breaks down so quickly in my oily areas, that’s a deal-breaker for me. But if you have normal skin and looking for a foundation with a soft matte finish, definitely check this one out. It retails for $48, which is definitely on the spendy side, but would be worth it to the right person if it does everything they’re looking for in a foundation.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this foundation or any other Chanel foundations? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. I hope you have a fantabulous weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

5 thoughts on “First Impressions: Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet Smooth-Effect Makeup

  1. I’ve tried the Aqua Vitalumiere and it’s one of my holy grail foundations. I agree that it does separate on my forehead, nose and a bit on my chin but it’s not too bad. I love how it blends so well into my skin that it practically looks like I am not wearing anything. It is pricey though but in my opinion, well worth it.

    Like

Leave a Comment

