Recent Lippie Purchases: Swatches & Mini Reviews

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Ready for the weekend? Got anything fun planned?

It’s going to be a super busy weekend for me. Tomorrow… I’m going to Walt Disney World! I plan on sharing photos throughout the day, so if you want to follow along with me on my day at the Magic Kingdom, be sure to be following my Instagram. Then on Sunday (which also happens to be Valentine’s Day), my boyfriend & I are going to see Todd Rundgren in concert (we’re both big fans).

For today’s post, I’m going to share some recent lippie purchases with you guys as well as swatches and some mini-reviews of what I think of these products. I got both high end and drugstore items to talk about. You ready? Let’s get going!

IMG_7992

Let’s start off with some Bite Beauty items! If you’ve been reading my blog, you’ll know I got the Luminous Creme Lipstick in Pepper last month (and it was one of my January favorites). This is a really pretty dusty rose shade that’s so perfect for anytime. I love the formula of this lipstick too. It feels creamy and moisturizing on the lips. It also has pretty decent staying power.

And if you missed it, Bite Beauty announced that starting today (February 12), they are discontinuing the Luminous Creme line. They’re replacing it with a new line called Amuse Bouche, which of course immediately makes me think of this:

And then there’s the Opal Creme Lipgloss. This is really pretty as you can wear it on its own or layer over a lip pencil or lipstick to transform it a bit and give it an opalescent shine. I really like this lipgloss and I like wearing it both ways. It’s not overly sticky either.

IMG_7993

Top to Bottom: Pepper, Opal Creme Lipgloss, Pepper topped with Opal

Top to Bottom: Pepper, Opal Creme Lipgloss, Pepper topped with Opal

Next I have a couple of the Wet N Wild MegaSlicks lipglosses in the shades Bronzed Berry and Rose Gold. I got these on clearance at CVS, so these shades have probably been discontinued. Both of these glosses live up to their shade names. They do have some shimmer in them so they’re best for a fun look or if you have a neutral eye going on. They’re not overly sticky, but they don’t last long either (especially if you’re eating/drinking).

Top: Bronze Berry; Bottom: Rose Gold

Top: Bronzed Berry; Bottom: Rose Gold

Top: Bronze Berry; Bottom: Rose Gold

Top: Bronze Berry; Bottom: Rose Gold

Up next is the Urban Decay Revolution Lipgloss in the shade Liar. This is a mini/travel size I got as part of a limited edition set (the other shade in the set, Anarchy, is way too bright for my taste, so I didn’t open it and will be putting it in a future giveaway). Liar is a gorgeous nude pink shade. It’s got really good pigmentation, so you can totally wear it it on its own or with a lip pencil. It’s not overly sticky and lasts a fair amount of time for a gloss. I have a feeling I’ll be purchasing a full size of this gloss when this little one runs out.

IMG_7999

IMG_8001

And next I have a couple of the the Sephora brand Oil Infusion Color & Care lip oils. Apparently lip oils have been very popular over the last year or so. I didn’t discover them for myself until I got one of these Sephora brand ones that came in a bag full of feeebies I got with a Sephora order. I got the shade Bubbly Grenadine, which is a bright pinkish-red. Lip oils are interesting as they’re not highly pigmented but they make your lips feel soft and nourished. In a way, it’s kind of an alternative to lip balm. I liked the one I got in the freebie bag, so I ended up getting a full size one in the shade Iced Coffee, which is a nude-pink-brown shade.

Top: Iced Coffee; Bottom: Bubbly Grenadine

Top: Iced Coffee; Bottom: Bubbly Grenadine

Top: Iced Coffee; Bottom: Bubbly Grenadine

Top: Iced Coffee; Bottom: Bubbly Grenadine

Next is one of the Maybelline ColorElixur lipglosses in the shade Caramel Infused. I got this on clearance at Target, so this shade may have been discontinued. It’s a pretty nude pink-brown shade. It’s got decent pigmentation, though not as pigmented as the Urban Decay gloss. But you can still wear it on its own (which I do sometimes, or pair it with a coordinating lip pencil). Again, this is a gloss that’s not overly sticky.

IMG_8004

IMG_8005

And up next is the H&M Gossamer Lip Stain in the shade Storyteller. This thing… I don’t know what to make of it yet. It’s a really pretty color. But, I hate the taste of it. It has a weird kind of bitter taste that is hard to get past. But like I said, it’s a really pretty color and it does give the lips a nice stain once it wears off. If it didn’t have that weird taste I’d probably like it a lot better. I’ll keep playing with it though.

IMG_8007

IMG_8008

And finally, we have a couple of the new Rimmel The Only One Lipsticks. I have the shades It’s a Keeper and Naughty Nude. Both are really pretty pink shades. These lipsticks promise to be moisturizing and comfortable on the lips as well as being long-wearing. And for me both of these shades live up to their claims.

Left: Naughty Nude; Right: It's A Keeper

Left: Naughty Nude; Right: It’s A Keeper

Top: Naughty Nude; Bottom: It's A Keeper

Top: Naughty Nude; Bottom: It’s A Keeper

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried any of these lip products or are any on your wishlist? Sound off below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope you have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

9 thoughts on “Recent Lippie Purchases: Swatches & Mini Reviews

  1. I tried the Sephora lip oil in Bubbly Grenadine and I really like it! A great light feel on the lips and seems to stay put for a while. I like the Iced Coffee shade you got – might have to look into that one next!
    That Urban Dcay gloss in Liar looks amazing! So SMOOTH.
    Good to know about the H&M gloss having a bitter taste – NO thanks!
    I see you like similar colours as I do for lips – all MLBB type of colours! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful color lip glosses! I am going to have to try the H&M one, I’m really wanting to try some of their make up products right now! The taste of lip glosses don’t really bother me so I think I can handle the taste because the colors a STUNNING! I love them!!!!! The friends clip! OMG I am dying! That is my jam, I can stay up for hours watching it! Amazing post!

    xo, Maggie
    http://www.obsessedandclassy.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

