First Impressions: Laura Mercier Silk Creme Oil Free Photo Edition Foundation

Hey guys! How was your weekend? To my followers/subscribers up north, I hope you’re staying safe and warm in all that snow!

Today’s post is going to be my first impressions on the Laura Mercier Silk Creme Oil Free Photo Edition Foundation. So grab yourself a hot beverage and a cozy blanket and let’s get it started!

Laura Mercier

I got a sample of this foundation recently at Sephora as I was looking for new things to try and I had never tried anything from Laura Mercier (that I could remember at least).

So let’s start out with some product information. This foundation costs $48 for 1 fl. oz. and it comes in 12 shades. It’s oil free, provides medium to full coverage and promises 12 wear time. It also says it’s formulated for normal to oily skin.

I picked the shade Sand Beige to try, but it ended up being a little too dark for me. I made the most of it though so I could try it out for you guys (luckily it was a day at work where I was alone most of the day – LOL!).

Ok so the consistency of this foundation isn’t real thick and not real liquidy either. It’s kind of in the middle… a cream like the name states. It applies and blends out really well with both a brush and a beauty blender. I got almost full coverage on the first layer so I just applied a little more to cover up my redness/problem areas. It dries to a semi-matte finish that looked really nice and natural (despite it being a little too dark for me… I just didn’t use bronzer that day as a trade off).

How’s the wear time? I got around 10 hours or so of wear out of this foundation, so it lives up to its longwearing claim, which is great. I still had to blot my nose and chin around the 3-4 hour mark and a light touchup of powder when I got home from work, but that was it. This foundation held up pretty well, which was impressive.

So will I be purchasing a full size bottle? No. It’s a little too much on the spendy side for me. But if you’re willing to spend the money and you’re looking for a foundation that’s good if you have normal, oily or combo skin? Definitely check this one out. I think you’ll be pleased.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this foundation? Is it on your wishlist? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! May the rest of your Monday behave (and if not, sucker punch that mofo) and I’ll see you again Wednesday with a new post! 🙂

10 thoughts on “First Impressions: Laura Mercier Silk Creme Oil Free Photo Edition Foundation

  1. I’m not sure if I tried this one or something similar-the bottle was the same- but I looked like a shiny mess by midday. 😦 I set it with powder and everything but it just didn’t work out for me.

    Like

  2. Great review! I use Laura Mercier and really like their products. I’ll have to give this one a try. Right now I use their oil-free tinted moisturzer and then the powder compact. I feel like the beauty blender has been haunting me. I don’t have one but see them/hear about them all the time. I just travel a lot and am a sucker for not having too much with me. I use my hands (I know I shouldn’t) just so I don’t bring more tools along. I carry my make-up in my purse ALWAYS! You never know when you need a touch up! 🙂

    Have a lovely week!

    xx Kasey

    kasestyles.com

    Like

Leave a Comment

