Review & Swatches: Kat Von D Shade + Light Eye Contour Palette

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Got anything fun planned this weekend?

I was hoping to go to the Detroit Tigers Fantasy Camp to see the game where the campers play the former Tigers ballplayers as a lot of the former players are the guys I grew up watching and I’m actually now friends with some of them, which is pretty cool. But the weather is going to be too cold and windy (for Florida at least). Watching baseball in 53 degree weather with winds of 20-30 MPH (and gusts up to 40 MPH) would be kind of miserable. But there’s another game next weekend and the weather is supposed to be nicer… and since The Makeup Show never got back to me about getting on their media list to visit the show happening next weekend in Orlando as press (this show is for professionals only, no enthusiasts like at IMATS or BeautyCon) even though I tried emailing them several times (very unprofessional to never respond)….. so…. yeah.

Anyhow, today’s post is going to be a review and swatches of the Kat Von D Shade + Light Eye Contour Palette. So grab your favorite beverage of choice and let’s get going!

IMG_7228

Ok so I know I’m late to the party on this one. I held off for ages getting this palette as even though it looked gorgeous, I was like, “Do I need another all matte palette?” since I already owned the original Tartelette palette (which I love). But then I started playing with it when I’d visit Sephora and started getting obsessed with one of the shadows in the palette (keep reading to find out which one). Then I finally had a JC Penny gift card (which you can use in the Sephora Inside JC Penny locations) and my Beauty Insiders $15 off $50 coupon during the holidays, so I was able to get this palette for a MAJOR steal.

IMG_7226

Alright so let’s start with some product info:

What it is:
An eye contouring palette featuring three color quads in neutral, cool, and warm shades.

What it does:
Transform your eyes through the art of contouring. After tapping into makeup pro secrets, Kat Von D created this first-of-its-kind eye shadow palette. It’s specially-designed for eye contouring, a groundbreaking technique once used only by beauty experts to define and enhance eyes. This palette features a gorgeous, versatile array of true contouring shades, arranged into three color quads—neutral, cool, and warm—to flatter every skintone.

Three large base shadows are arranged above three coordinating powders for contouring, defining, and highlighting. The palette includes an easy-to-follow contouring guide with step-by-step instructions for creating three different eye-opening techniques. Each velvety powder is blendable and buildable, and it features Kat Von D’s signature high-pigment, long-wear eye shadow formula, created to deliver rich color that lasts all day and all night.

The packaging for this palette is really gorgeous. Very gothy and signature Kat Von D, which I love. The palette is cardboard, but very sturdy and durable. Inside there’s a nice mirror.

IMG_7230

This palette contains 12 matte eyeshadows that are cleverly divided into 4 “quads” – neutral tones, cool tones and warm tones.

The shadows in this palette are really soft and SUPER pigmented. Since they’re so soft, there is some fallout, but whatever… fallout happens. They apply and blend out like a freaking dream. You can mix and match any of the shades in this palette for a full-on totally matte look, or use them as the base of your eye look and toss a nice shimmer shade on the lid. This palette is so versatile, which I love.

Ok so let’s get to the swatches. I like how on the back of the palette they give the actual names of the shadows:

Neutral Quad:

L-R:

L-R: Samael, Solas, Lucius, Laetus

Samael – Dusty Fawn
Solas – Expresso Brown
Lucius – Soft Beige
Laetus – Creamy Nude

Cool Quad:

L-R:

L-R: Saleos, Shax, Liberatus, Lazarus

Saleos – Smoky Brown
Shax  – Jet Black
Liberatus  – Pinkish Ivory
Lazarus – Cool Taupe

Warm Quad:

L-R:

L-R: Succubus, Sytry, Latnus, Ludwin

Succubus – Rich Rust (this is the shade I totally obsessed over as I amazingly didn’t have anything like this in my collection)
Sytry  – Chocolate Brown
Latinus  – Golden Bisque
Ludwin – Peachy Bronze

This palette retails for $46 but I feel it’s worth every single penny. I grab for it at least a couple times a week. I HIGHLY recommend checking this palette out if you haven’t already. I doubt you’ll be disappointed.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this palette out? Is it on your wishlist? Sound off below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. I hope you have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: Kat Von D Shade + Light Eye Contour Palette

  1. This is on my wish list to be purchased during Sephora VIB sale in April! I’d use the HECK otta this thing! Thanks for the swatches – dat shade Lazarus! – it solidified my decision to get this! 😀

    Like

  2. I can see why you like Succubus. I gravitated to that shade immediately. Sucks about the Makeup Show. I think I’ve gone once. It’s not as big as IMATS though, at least not the one I went to.

    Like

  3. This is definitely on my wish list. I’ve read only great reviews on this palette so have to get it. I have a JC Penny gift card that I am planning on using for this too. Love all the colors but that succubus 😍 Lazarus and Lucias too. Thanks for the great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

