Review & Swatches: Revlon Super Lustrous Lipsticks

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Ready for the weekend? I know I am!

Today’s post is going to be a review and swatches of the Revlon Super Lustrous Lipsticks. I picked up some of these lipsticks back in November when Ulta had a Cyber Fundays sale the weekend before Thanksgiving and has these lipsticks on sale for just $2.99 each!

IMG_7559

You ready? Let’s get going!

Ok so first off, some product info:

Revlon’s Super Lustrous Lipstick is infused with silk and vitamins for smooth, conditioning color. In a dazzling array of fabulous, fashionable shades.

Benefits:

  • Expertly selected, on-trend shades that provide lightweight color and moisturizing shine
  • Formulated for superior comfort
  • Light reflecting LiquiShine complex, containing Abyssinian Oil, delivers shiny, radiant color
  • Moisturizing formula with Vitamin E and Avocado Oil conditions lips without dragginess
  • Buildable color payoff
  • Gliding, smooth application

I picked up 4 shades: Terra Copper, Spicy Cinnamon, Toast of New York and Black Cherry. Let’s break them down one by one.

Terra Copper is a warm copper brown with red undertones and has shine/glossy finish. This lipstick is a little on the sheer side, but can be built up to be more opaque. This is a great shade to wear I think anytime. Wearing over a coordinating lip liner would definitely amp up the opaqueness as well.

Terra Copper

Terra Copper

Spicy Cinnamon is a soft, muted red shade with a hint of brown undertone and a “pearl” finish. This is (for me at least) the perfect everyday red shade. I normally don’t wear red lipstick because I just can’t pull it off and look like Ronald McDonald, but this shade is perfect for me.

Spicy Cinnamon

Spicy Cinnamon

Toast of New York is a red brown shade in a creme finish that is actually kind of similar Retro by MAC (but Retro is a peachy-pinky brown instead of red brown). Another gorgeous shade I’ll wear during the day or a night out. I love lipstick shades I can wear whenever.

Toast of New York

Toast of New York

Black Cherry is a dark, vampy plum shade in a creme finish that’s kind of cult favorite and holy grail shade for some. It’s definitely a statement lipstick.

Black Cherry

Black Cherry

Ok so how do these lipsticks wear?

As I mentioned, Terra Copper is more on the sheer side, so it doesn’t last super long. Even if I’m not eating or drinking, I need to reapply this one after a few hours of wear.

Spicy Cinnamon, on the other hand, is nice and opaque and has good staying power. I can get around 5 hours of wear out of this one even with light snacking/drinking. It won’t last through a full meal though and I have to reapply after. Some say the “pearl” finish makes their lips feel dry, but since I wear a lip balm or lip primer under anything I wear on my lips, I really don’t get that dryness.

Toast of New York gives me about the same opaqueness and wear time as Spicy Cinnamon. Not much else to say about this one without repeating myself.

Black Cherry. Well, what can I say? The color is gorgeous, but for being a creme finish lipstick, it swatches really nice, but when applied to the lips, it applies kind of patchy, which is disappointing. It’s workable, but annoying. Also with it being such a dark, vampy shade, wear time isn’t the best, I can get a few hours in if I’m not eating or drinking. And it wears off kind of unevenly too, which is again, disappointing. I had such high hopes for this one. It’s not so bad this lipstick is unwearable, but it’s definitely a more higher maintenance shade. A better, similar alternative lipstick is the NYX Butter Lipstick in the shade Licorice. It’s not as dark as Black Cherry but it’s pretty close. It also applies much more evenly.

Ok so how about some swatches?

Left to Right: Terra Copper, Spicy cinnamon, Toast of New York, Black Cherry

Left to Right: Terra Copper, Spicy cinnamon, Toast of New York, Black Cherry

These lipsticks retail anywhere from $4.99 to $7.99 depending on where you purchase them. Overall I really like them and plan on trying more shades in the future. I definitely recommend checking them out.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried these lipsticks before? What shade(s) is your favorite? Sound off below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading. I hope you have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: Revlon Super Lustrous Lipsticks

  1. Good timing – these are on sale right now for $4 each which is really cheap here in Canada (usually they’re $12 I think). I really like the look of Spicy Cinnamon and Toast of New York.
    Have a good weekend!

    Like

Leave a Comment

