Best In Beauty 2015!

Best In Beauty 2015

 

Hey guys! How’s it going? Happy New Year!

Today’s post is going to be a rundown of my over-all best in beauty picks for 2015. This is going to be a little different from my monthly favorites posts as I’ll be sharing my absolute favorites over the last year from several beauty categories. It was hard to narrow these down, but I somehow managed!

Got lots to talk about, so grab yourself that extra large beverage and a snack! You ready? Let’s get the party started!

Liquid Lipstick – Gotta go with Lolita and Lolita II by Kat Von D. Both of these shades are so perfect. They look good (and looks different) on all skin tones, the formula isn’t overly drying, lasts a good amount of time…. no wonder it’s so hard to get your hands on these puppies!

Lolita on the left; Lolita II on the right

Lolita on the left; Lolita II on the right

Blush – Touch of Pink by Jordana. I was absolutely obsessed with this blush when I got it (wore it nearly every day for at least a month). It’s just the perfect peachy-pink shade. It’s also super affordable at less than $3!

IMG_4628

Foundation – Estee Lauder Double Wear. I don’t know how I lived without this for so long. It’s everything I’ve ever wanted in a foundation. It’s got amazing coverage, lasts all day, helps control oil in my oily areas… I will always repurchase this guy.

IMG_3926

Nail Polish – Gotta go with Dark Night by LA Colors. It’s such a gorgeous vampy dark blood red shade. It needs to be built up a few coats, but once it’s opaque it’s so perfect. I just love dark/vampy nails year-round really.

Dark Night

Highlight – This was a tough one, and I ended up with 2 I love most. Becca’s collaboration with Jaclyn Hill – Champagne Pop (I love this peachy white gold shade) and Benefit Watt’s Up (perfect more subdued highlight but still gorgeous).

IMG_4944

Watts Up

Primer – The Make Up For Ever Step 1 Mattifying Primer has become a holy grail product for me. I only use it on my nose and chin (so a travel size lasts me around 6 months), but it work so well keeping me matte in those areas.

MUFE Step 1

Palette – This was a really tough one as I’ve gotten some really great palettes this year, so I picked my top 3. First is the Lorac Mega Pro 2. If I had to give away all my eye palettes except for one, this would be the one I’d keep. It’s got everything you could need for just about any eye look imaginable.

IMG_6483

Next is the Morphe 35W palette. This palette exceeded my expectations. The colors are pigmented and they apply and blend really nicely.

IMG_6575

And lastly we have the Makeup Revolution Unicorns Unite palette. I love the bright pops of color in this! For just $10 you get a lot of bang for your buck with this one.

IMG_5565

Lipgloss – Makeup Academy Luminizing lipgloss in Brick. This is such an awesome terracotta shade that’s surprisingly opaque.

Makeup Academy Luminizing Lip Gloss -Brick

Mascara – The Urban Decay Perversion has become my main go-to mascara. I love what it does for my lashes.

UD Perversion

Eyeliner – I absolutely love the Essence gel liner. It’s pigmented, lasts all day and is super affordable. It can dry out though, but it’s easily fixable by just adding a couple drops of Moroccan or Argan oil, mix it up and popping it in the microwave for 15-20 seconds or so and allowing it to cool

IMG_4213

Bronzer – The Hoola bronzer by Benefit is another product that became holy grail status for me this year. It’s a great bronzer (it pulls more neutral to slightly warm on me) that’s also perfect for light contouring as well.

IMG_5144

Moisturizer – The Garnier Moisture Rescue gel for normal/combo skin is another holy grail product. I love how it feels so lightweight and absorbs into my skin quickly.

IMG_0750

Single Shadow – This was an easy one… Kindness by Colour Pop (from the limited edition CoffeeBreakWithDani Metamorphosis quad). I am totally obsessed with this shadow. I’m a sucker for duochromes and this one really takes the cake for me.

IMG_5950

Brow Product – The Billion Dollar Brows Universal Brow Pencil. This is a product I’ve only used recently, but it totally wowed and impressed me enough to include it here. It’s the perfect shade for me, applies nicely, looks natural… and lasts all day.

Universal brow pencil

Lipstick – This was a tough one as I’d gotten my hands on some really awesome lipsticks this year. So again I’m going with my top 3. First is Retro by MAC. This shade is the perfect peachy-pinky brown.

IMG_5944

Next is the Maybelline ColorSensational lipstick in Summer Sunset. This color is so freaking gorgeous I can barely stand it.IMG_3974

And last we have Frida by ColourPop (collaboration with CoffeeBreakWithDani). This is the perfect everyday natural color for me. I love how this shade looks different on pretty much everyone in photos I’ve seen all over Instagram.

Frida

Concealer – I love the NYX HD concealer. It provides great coverage and doesn’t crease on me. I use the shade Fair for highlighting the center of my forehead and the bridge of my nose, and the shade Glow under my eyes.

NYX HD Concealer

Beauty Tool – The Beauty Blender. I have barely touched my foundation brushes since I eventually caved and got one of these. For so long I couldn’t justify spending $20 for a SPONGE, but after the first use I understood why it gets so much hype because it is seriously an amazing product.

IMG_3623

Hair Accessory – I had to go with my Irresistible Me clip-in hair extensions. They are so thick and amazing. I love how well they blend in with my natural hair and give me that long, thick mermaid hair I’ve always dreamed of.

Long hair, don't care!

Long hair, don’t care!

And that pretty much does it! If you made it through this entire post…. Congratulations! I told you it was going to be a long one! LOL!

So what are some of your best of beauty picks for 2015? Tell me about them below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. You guys keep me going! I hope you all have a fantastic weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

Leave a Comment

