December 2015 Favorites

December Favorites

 

Hey guys! How’s it going? Can you believe tomorrow is New Year’s Eve? Got anything fun planned? I have the day off work (yay another 4 day weekend!) and my boyfriend has a solo acoustic gig, but it’s early (done at 9pm), so we’ll find something else to do afterward to ring in the new year.

Anyhow, today’s post is going to be a rundown of my favorites for the month of December. Are you ready? Let’s go!

First up is the Kat Von D Shade & Light Eye palette. I know… I am really late to the party on this one. I held off for ages getting it, but then I had a Beauty Insiders coupon from Sephora for $15 off $50, plus I had a JC Penny gift card I won (and you can use JCP gift cards in the Sephora inside JCP stores), so since this palette costs $46, I added one of the Sephora brand sheet masks to bring it over the $50 mark and got the palette for a major steal. I’ll have a full review of this palette soon, but yeah I really love it and wish I had gotten it sooner now.

IMG_7228

Next is another palette which is a repeat favorite… the Morphe 35W. Definitely worth the hype as I grab for this palette at least once a week. The shadows are nice and pigmented and apply & blend so nicely (you can read my review of this palette here if you missed it).

IMG_6575

Up next are a couple Revlon Super Lusterous lipsticks I picked up during Ulta’s Cyber Fundays sale the weekend before Thanksgiving. The first shade is Terra Copper, which is a really pretty peachy-copper-brown shade that’s a little on the sheer side. The other is Spicy Cinnamon, which is a gorgeous red-brown shade. I’ll have a full review of these (and 2 other shades I picked up when I got these) soon.

Left: Terra Copper; Right: Spicy Cinnamon

Left: Terra Copper; Right: Spicy Cinnamon

Next is a rediscovered favorite, the Maybelline Fit Me Matte & Poreless foundation. I got this foundation early in the year and instantly loved it. But the shade I got (235 Pure Beige) became too dark for me as the year went on, so I stopped using it. I finally got around to getting a new bottle in a lighter shade that works much better for me (125 Nude Beige) and I remembered why I loved it so much.

IMG_7480

My next favorite is the Jack Black lip balm. I got a deluxe sample of this with a Sephora order last month and once I finally got around to trying it, I was hooked. This lip balm is so moisturizing and not waxy or sticky feeling like some lip balms can be, It also makes a really great base under lipstick! I ended up purchasing a full size I love this so much.

IMG_7463

Next up is the Too Faced Hangover Rx primer. I got a sample of this from Sephora to try out as I’d heard a lot about it. I was so impressed I ended up getting a full size recently as I got a coupon from Ulta for 20% off my entire purchase (including high end brands). Again, I’ll have a full review of this in the near future, but for now, I’m just going to say I am really liking this stuff.

IMG_7462

And my next favorite is another rediscovery in my stash – the NYX Illuminator in Ritualistic. This is such a pretty soft gold highlight and has been so perfect to wear during the holiday season. If I remember correctly, I believe Ritualistic is a dupe for the Becca highlighter in Moonstone.

IMG_1664

My final makeup favorite is the MAC lip pencil in Whirl. Again, super late to the party on this one, but this little pencil is a pain in the butt to find in stock due to its popularity. This is a really pretty dusty rose/mauve shade that on me is a total “my lips but 100 times better”.

IMG_7471

And now for some non-beauty favorites!

First up is the new Star Wars movie. The Force Awakens. I’ve been a MAJOR Star Wars fan since I was like 6 or 7. I remember my mom taking me to see Return of the Jedi when it came out in 1983 (the other 2 movies I had seen previously on video). I had Star Wars action figures and all that jazz (I liked playing with them more than any dolls I owned). When the prequels were announced, I was so excited, but they were overall… not that great (except for Ewan McGregor, but I’d pay $20 to listen to him read the phone book, so that’s not saying much). But when this new movie was announced, I was ready. And for me it totally lived up to my expectations and I totally plan on seeing it again soon. Don’t worry no spoilers from me, but if you haven’t seen it yet… GO SEE IT!

SWEp7

Next are a couple pairs of shoes I got earlier this month during Kohl’s Friends & Family sale. First are these awesome Dolce by Mojo Moxy boots. I love boots with embellishments/buckles, so these were right up my alley. They’re actually more comfortable than they look, but these boots are definitely NOT made for a lot of walking. I wore these to the mall once and my feet were a little sore by the time I got home. But these are otherwise great if you don’t plan on doing too much walking.

IMG_7477

The other shoes are these cute flats by Apt 9. I love the sparkly toes! These are also pretty comfy and I’ve worn these to work as well as out and about. These flats are a great way to dress up jeans and a t-shirt or add a little extra something to a more fancy outfit.

IMG_7476

And my final final favorite for December is this plaid flannel shirt I got at Nordstrom Rack. Now, I had ordered another red plaid shirt from Kohl’s during the Friends & Family sale, but when it arrived, I ended up not liking it and returned it. I looked elsewhere for a red plaid flannel shirt that wasn’t just red and black. I wanted other colors in it too. I had bought one I loved awhile back at Kohl’s, but once I got home, I discovered the “black” in it was actually navy blue (damn you, store lighting!). I kept it though as I have a couple navy blue t-shirts I can wear with it. But then I saw this one at Nordstrom Rack and was pretty much, “This is what I’ve been after!” and totally grabbed it.

IMG_7478

And that does it for my December 2015 favorites! What were some of your favorites this month? Tell me about them below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope you have a great New Year’s Eve (and remember to party responsibly), and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

5 thoughts on “December 2015 Favorites

  1. That NYX Illuminator looks great! I love finding drugstore dupes for high end products!
    We finally went to see Star Wars over the weekend… after my FIL already spoiled it for us during Christmas (too much alcohol and excitement I guess lol) BUT it was still enjoyable. We got to see it on IMAX 3D so that was pretty epic. Overall, it was a good movie – some great funny bits too! I really like the new characters from Poe to Finn to Rey! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

