Review: Sephora Green Tea Sleeping Mask

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Got anything fun or exciting planned this weekend? Tomorrow night I’m going to a Christmas party. Well… my boyfriend’s band is playing at a bar that’s having a Christmas party and I’m tagging along like I always do. LOL! But I know people who will be there and we know the owners of the bar so it should be fun.

Anyhow, today’s post is going to be a review of the Sephora brand Green Tea Sleeping Mask. So grab yourself your favorite holiday beverage and let’s get going!

IMG_5742

Ok, so I picked one of these things up awhile back at Sephora. They were in the impulse buy section by the checkouts with all the travel size stuff (I was actually there to get a new travel size of the Make Up For Ever Step 1 Mattifying Primer, which I love). I saw these sleeping masks and thought they looked interesting. I love the Sephora brand green tea sheet masks, so I figured I’d give this one a fair shake.

These masks come in 8 different varieties (Pearl, Ginseng, Lingzhi, Lotus, Rose, Green Tea, Pomegranate & Honey). The green tea one claims to “absorb excess sebum and purifies for a matte, clean complexion”. Sephora says these masks have all been dermatologist tested as well, so that’s good to know. They retail for $4 each.

IMG_5743

This mask is different from other masks I’ve tried. It has a gel consistency. Basically how you use them is like this: At night before you go to bed, after you wash and dry your face (clean, dry skin for those playing at home), you apply a thin layer all over your face, neck and around the eyes. Then you just go to sleep and let the mask absorb into the skin and work its magic. In the morning  if there’s any excess still on your face, you just rinse it off. Easy-peasy!

So as I’ve mentioned before, I love the green tea sheet mask (I’ve purchased a few more since my initial review, which you can read here if you missed it), so I wanted to see if this would be just as good.

The packaging is small and looks like you might only get one use out of it, but since you just apply a thin later to your face and neck, if you have like a little ziplock baggie, you could store the rest in there and get 2 or 3 uses total out of the little container.

Anyhow, I applied the mask as directed. It felt cool and kind of nice actually. It felt kind of weird sleeping with something kind of sticky on my face, but once I was asleep it was no big deal. And I didn’t wake up finding any gel goop on my pillow the next morning as most of the gel had absorbed into my skin overnight.

IMG_5744

But does this mask deliver on its promise? My skin felt clean and a bit more matte after rinsing the extra off. But then I take my showers in the morning, so I washed the excess off during that and also did my usual morning face washing routine. But it didn’t break me out or anything, so that’s good.

Overall, I thought this mask was ok but I won’t be repurchasing it. I’ll stick to the sheet masks. But these sleeping masks might work better for someone else, so I say try them and see how they work for you.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried these sleeping masks from Sephora? If so, what did you think of them? Sound off below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. I hope you have a fabulous weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Review: Sephora Green Tea Sleeping Mask

  1. I’m still unsure of the whole concept of a sleeping mask… isn’t it just a serum? Do you put anything else on your skin after this?
    I’ve seen these pods at Sephora and I always thought they were single use too – kind of annoying they’re in these pods then if they last 2-3 uses.

    Like

Leave a Comment

