Tips/Products For Healthy, Glowing Skin… If You Have Oily/Combination Skin

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Did those of you in the US have a good Thanksgiving? Did you do any Black Friday shopping today? If so, did you get any good deals?

Today’s post is going to be a little different. I’m going to give some tips on how you can have healthy, glowing skin… if you have oily/combination skin like I do. So fasten your seatbelt and let’s get going!

Before I get started, I wanted to let you know this post was inspired by the folks over at Glossier, who contacted me about writing a post such as this. I’ve never tried any of their products, but I’ve heard several good things about them from various YouTubers. They look to have a varied line of products, and I definitely plan to check out their stuff sometime (and of course report back to you guys what I think).

As I’ve mentioned here on the blog, I’m not the usual 20-something beauty enthusiast. I’m in my early 40s, but just about everyone who meets me for the first time usually thinks I’m in my late 20s or early 30s and end up being shocked when I tell them how old I actually am. They always ask me, “How do you keep yourself looking so young?” Well, part of it is good old genetics. My mom looked younger than she was too (everyone thought she was at least 10 years younger than she was). But the rest goes to having a good skin care routine, which is easier than you’d think.

Ok so of course the first step in keeping your skin looking healthy and fresh is to wash it. I use a variety of different products and use them interchangeably. In the morning, I normally wash my face with just a plain old Dove beauty bar. It’s a mild soap, so it’s very gentle on the skin and doesn’t cause breakouts but does a good job of cleaning my face, doesn’t make my skin feel greasy or dry it out.

Next would be toner. I have a couple of toners I absolutely love. One is the OZ Naturals Ocean Minerals Tonic. I did a review of this product awhile back (which you can read here). It’s different because you apply it by spraying your face instead of dispensing some onto a cotton pad and swiping it all over your face (which you can do if you prefer that method). The other toner I love is the Foxbrim Orange Blossom Water Toner, which I’ve also reviewed previously (you can read that review here). This stuff is made from straight up orange blossom water, which is a natural astringent, but isn’t harsh on the skin like some toners/astringents can be. This stuff also works to balance the pH in your skin… and it smells so good too!

IMG_4186

 

IMG_3377

Ok so next is serums. This is a product that is more important that you may think and is worth the extra step (which only takes an extra maybe 30 seconds anyway). Serums help draw products like your eye cream and moisturizer deeper into your skin to help them achieve their full potential. They also have benefits of their own like anti-aging and keeping your skin hydrated and elasticized. I really love the OZ Naturals Hyaluronic Acid + Vitaminย C Serum (which you can read my review of here). Sadly I’m almost out of it. It makes my skin feel soft and smooth and I’ve actually seen visible improvements in my skin from using this stuff.

IMG_2889

Now I’ve heard some people say over the years that if you have oily skin (or combo/oily skin), you don’t need to moisturize as the oils from your face do that for you. WRONG. If you’re not moisturizing, your face will actually produce even more oil and make you really look like a greaseball. Using a moisturizer formulated for your skin type is essential. I love the Philosophy Hope In a Jar as it somehow adapts to your skin type to work for you (or at least in my experience it does), but it’s so expensive. But then I read that gel-based moisturizers are the best for those with oily or combo/oily skin as they absorb into the skin faster. I absolutely love the Garnier Moisture Rescue Gel moisturizer that’s for normal/combo skin. A little goes a looong way, it absorbs into my skin super fast, doesn’t break me out and it also smells good too.

IMG_0750

Now just these steps can be enough for some, but I like to take it a little further with weekly mask treatments. I love the good old Queen Helene Mint Julep mask, plus I’ve become a fan of the Sephora brand sheet masks (especially the green tea one that has mattifying & anti-blemish properties). These give my facial skin a little extra “oomph” and a nice little way to pamper myself once a week.

IMG_0331

 

IMG_5338

It may seem like a lot and not worth the effort, but for me, it’s worth it in the end. And it really doesn’t take up a whole lot of extra time at all. You only get the skin you’re born with, so make the most of it and take care of it, you know?

Ok that should do it for today! What do you do to help keep your skin looking healthy? Sound off below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope you have a wonderful weekend, and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

FTC Disclaimer: I did not receive compensation of any kind from Glossier in exchange for this post.

5 thoughts on “Tips/Products For Healthy, Glowing Skin… If You Have Oily/Combination Skin

  1. I am also in my early 40’s with oily/combination skin. I recently started using the Bioderma Sebium Pore Refiner (purchased from Beautylish) and really like it. It does a good job of keeping my skin matte throughout the day and also does seem to minimize the pores on my nose! Often I don’t even need to blot at all anymore, whereas it used to be a daily 4pm task. I’ve tried lots of mattifying lotions, and this is the first one that truly worked for me. Right now there is a bundle where you get a 100ml bottle of Bioderma cleansing water with the refiner. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Comment

