MAC Viva Glam Lipsticks – Review & Swatches

Hey guys! Happy mid-week! Today is actually my “Friday” this week as I’m off work for the Thanksgiving weekend. Yay for 4 day weekends! To my readers in the US, you got anything special planned for Thanksgiving? My boyfriend & I will be having a quiet dinner (neither of us have any family around here), so we’re throwing tradition out the window and having an Italian feast instead of the normal turkey.

Anyhow, today’s post is going to be a quick review and swatches of the MAC Viva Glam lipsticks. You ready? Let’s go!

IMG_6676

Ok so this product review is going to be a little different. See, I have 6 of the MAC Viva Glam lipsticks, but they’re not packaged in the normal bullet style packaging. I found a palette that contained them at the CCO (Cosmetics Company Store) at the outlet mall that opened in my area recently. If you don’t know what a CCO is, well they’re basically an outlet store for high end makeup. They get discontinued and leftover limited edition products and sell them at a discount. At this particular CCO, in the MAC section, they had some of the Keepsakes holiday sets/palettes from last year (2014). One of these palettes contains the MAC Viva Glam lipsticks (shades I-VI). It retailed for $40 last holiday season, but I was able to score it at the CCO for $28. That’s a really good deal!

IMG_6700

Ok so let’s break down each lipstick shade by shade.

Viva Glam I – Intense brownish-blue red (matte finish)

Viva Glam II – Muted pink-beige with shimmer (satin finish)

Viva Glam III – Muted brownish-plum (matte finish)

Viva Glam IV – Mid-tone rose with gold pearl (frost finish)

Viva Glam V – Neutral pink with pearl (lustre finish)

Viva Glam VI – Terracotta-plum with pearl (lustre finish)

IMG_6701

As you come to expect from MAC lipsticks, these are all quite pigmented. The mattes aren’t over-drying on the lips, which is nice. All the shades have good staying power too (can get around 5-6 hours of wear even with light snacking and drinking on most of them).

My favorites are Viva Glam II, Viva Glam III & Viva Glam VI, but all the colors are really pretty.

And now comes that part you’ve been waiting for… the swatches!

Left to Right: Viva Glam I, Viva Glam II, Viva Glam III, Viva Glam IV, Viva Glam V, Viva Glam VI

Left to Right: Viva Glam I, Viva Glam II, Viva Glam III, Viva Glam IV, Viva Glam V, Viva Glam VI

If you missed out on this holiday palette from last year, you can still buy all 6 of the regular Viva Glam shades individually (they retail for $17 each just like other MAC lipsticks). The best part is every single penny from each sale of a Viva Glam lipstick is donated to the MAC AIDS Fund, which supports research to find a cure for HIV/AIDS.

Ok that should do it for today! Do you own any of the MAC Viva Glam lipsticks? What shades are your favorites? Let me know below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading. If you’re in the States, I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving (and if you’re elsewhere, I hope your Thursday is good to you) and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

8 thoughts on “MAC Viva Glam Lipsticks – Review & Swatches

  1. I don’t own ANY of the Viva Glams but I intend to remedy that in 2016. The V has been recommended to me as a good everyday shade to get – I’ll have to go check them out in person. Thanks for swatching them here – this palette is pretty handy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

