Review & Swatches: Lorac Mega Pro 2 Palette

Hey guys! Happy Friday!

Today’s post is going to be a review and swatches of the Lorac Mega Pro 2 palette. So grab your favorite beverage and a tasty treat and let’s get the party started!

IMG_6479

So last fall, Lorac came out with the original Mega Pro palette. Its release was a bit of a… well there’s really no nice way to say it… it was a clusterf**k for the most part. It sold out really fast, appeared on Amazon a couple times and sold out quick each time and that was pretty much it.

Now this fall they’ve released the Mega Pro 2 palette and it looks like they’ve learned their lesson and did it right this time. This palette is an Ulta exclusive and you can get it both online and in-store, with lots of stock readily available so pretty much everyone who wants one can get one.

I admit I wasn’t going to get this at first. I wasn’t impressed with the original Mega Pro palette from the photos and videos I saw as a lot of the colors in the palette were the same as several shadows in other Lorac palettes (just renamed for this particular palette). But the Mega Pro 2 intrigued me. It has a wider variety of colors and they all looked gorgeous. But this palette costs $59! Yikes. But then I got a card in the mail from Ulta for 20% off everything (including high end) for being a Platinum member of their rewards program. Well, that changed things! So I used the coupon and combined it with the rewards points I’d been saving up since my birthday haul in August… and got the palette for a steal.

IMG_6480

Ok so the packaging of this palette is nice. I personally like the blue color (though I’ve heard some don’t) and it has a soft matte finish like the other Pro palettes. It comes with 32 shadows – 16 matte and 16 shimmer. There are pretty much no shades in this palette that are similar to shadows in any of the other Lorac palettes I own (I have the original Pro, the Pro 2 and the Pro Metal palettes), which is great. The formula of the shadows is the same as every other Lorac palette – super soft and buttery and pigmented. As a result, this can cause fallout, so you always need to tap the excess off when applying them. But they apply and blend beautifully.

IMG_6481

The shadows in this palette are so freaking gorgeous I can barely stand it. There’s warm tones, cool tones, neutrals, bright jewel tones… this palette has it all! I have so many favorite shades in this palette. If I had to pick my top 5 favorites in each finish though, they’d have to be: Melon, Goji, Cabernet, Tawny & Saddle for the mattes and Soft Plum, Peony, Prosecco, Cinnamon, Dark Sienna & Blue Quartz for the shimmers. But really, every single shadow is so pretty.

IMG_6483

Ok so how about some swatches? All of these were done with no primer or base underneath.

Row 1

Row 1

 

Row 2

Row 2

 

Row 3

Row 3

 

Row 4

Row 4

As I mentioned earlier, this palette costs $59 and is an Ulta exclusive. If you plan on getting even just one palette for the holidays, I highly recommend this one as it has everything to create a ton of awesome looks. And if you have some rewards points saved up… this is a great excuse to use them!

Ok that should do it for today! Do you have this palette yet? If so what do you think of it? If you don’t have it yet, are you planning on getting it? Sound off below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. You all rock. I hope you have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: Lorac Mega Pro 2 Palette

  1. Originally I was so obsessed I knew I had to get my hands on it when it launched. But then I convinced myself I didn’t want or need it lol. (Yeah right) .. you’re review is just 😍😍😍😍😍 those swatches are everything!!!! I think this is gonna end up on my Christmas wishlist lol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

