The Empties Strike Back!

Hey guys! How’s is going?

Today’s post is going to be an empties post. The empties basket was full again and it’s time to clear it out. I got a little of everything this time around, so grab yourself a bagel and beverage of choice and let’s get started!

IMG_6589

Let’s start with the hair care products!

IMG_6590

First up is the Garnier Anti-Humidity hairspray. This is my favorite hairspray (as you can tell by the photo, I’ve gone through multiple cans). It really does help protect hair against humidity… to a point. I live where it’s humid pretty much year-round, so I’ve been able to put it to the test time and again. As long as Garnier makes this hairspray, I’ll continue to purchase it.

Next is the Garnier Anti-Humidity Smoothing Milk. I love this stuff too. Another holy grail product. I use it on both wet and dry hair. It works nicely at helping keep the humidity from making me too much of a frizzball, plus it makes my hair feel nice and soft.

Up next is the Tresemme Keratin Smooth heat protecting spray. This stuff isn’t bad. I like it, but I can usually get the Garnier version cheaper, so I go with that one. But I would buy this one again too.

Next is Suave Professionals Natural Infusion Macadamia Oil Spray. I loved using this as a weekly nourishment treatment on my clip-in hair extensions so they don’t get dried out. I loved how this came as a spray instead of a pump, so I could spay it onto my extensions directly instead of applying to my hands first. I’d totally repurchase this, but I can’t find it anywhere. I’m hoping it hasn’t been discontinued.

And the last hair product is the salon Grafix Shaping Hairspray. This is just a travel size I kept in my makeup bag in my purse for touch-ups on the go. It’s not a bad hairspray and it served its purpose. I’d probably repurchase another travel size to keep in my bag.

Ok onto the skin care!

IMG_6591

First up is the Sephora Green Tea sheet mask. I love these! You can read my full review here. The green tea mask is for mattifying & anti-blemish. And it works. I still have one more to use and I know I’ll buy more of these in the future.

Next is a product that’s been in all my other empties posts – the Epielle makeup wipes. These are my favorite makeup wipes. I get them in packs of 30 for $1 at Big Lots (they also come in packs of 60 for $2). They have several different kinds but my favorites are the green tea and Vitamin C ones.

And finally we have the Physician’s Formula Rx211 Hydrating & Balancing Moisturizer. I love this moisturizer. I have combination skin and this moisturizer was great at balancing how much moisture various parts of my face needed. Sadly it was discontinued last year, but I found a new moisturizer to replace it.

And now… onto the makeup!

IMG_6592

Up first is the MAC Fix+ spray. This was one of the limited edition scents that came out over the summer (this was the Yuzu one). I love this stuff. I love using it as a makeup and skin refresher. I also like spraying some onto a flat shadow brush to foil eye shadows (there’s something the glycerin in this spray activates in the shadow that just plain water doesn’t). I also like spraying a few spritzes of this on an already damp Beauty Blender or a foundation brush to give it a little extra something. It helps blend out foundation really nicely. I’ve repurchased this, but I got the normal Fix+ as I don’t think you can get any of the limited edition scents anymore, which is a bummer. I wish they’d make even just a couple of the special scents permanent.

Next is the Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation. This is my hold grail high end foundation. This stuff blew me away on every level the very first time I tried it and it still wows me every time I use it. It gives amazing coverage without feeling heavy or looking cakey. It helps control my oil around my nose and chin really well. When I had a random dry patch on my face for a few days from using an acne treatment, it didn’t cling to or accentuate the dry patch like some foundations did. And it lasts all day long. It won’t budge until you take it off. I already purchased a new bottle.

Next is a couple bottles of the NYX Matte Finishing Spray. I love this stuff and have repurchased it several times. It works, plain and simple.

Up next is the Lorac Behind the Scenes eye primer. This is a little travel size that came with my Lorac Pro 2 palette. I like this primer a lot. It goes on smooth and doesn’t dry out my lids like the Urban Decay primer potion did (and nearly ruined my lids in the process). A little goes a long way, so it took me almost a year to use up this little tube (but I also would switch it up between the Milani and Elf shadow primers too). A full size tube costs I think $21. Would I purchase it? Maybe. But I have another travel size that came with my Lorac Pro palette (the 1st one), so I’m set for awhile.

And next is the NYX Microbrow pencil. I love this.It does a great job filling in my brows without making them look overdrawn or overdone. I’ll keep repurchasing this as long as NYX keeps making them.

And lastly, I got a few mascaras:

Benefit They’re Real – I like this mascara a lot. It was actually one of my favorite high end mascaras until I discovered the Smashbox Full Exposure and Urban Decay Perversion ones. This was just a little travel size I got as a gift with purchase or something. while I like this mascara, I don’t know if I’d purchase a full-size tube.

W7 Zoom mascara – W7 is a UK makeup brand. They have some pretty decent products. I liked this mascara a lot. It gave my lashes some nice length.

W7 Showing Out mascara – This mascara appeared to be trying to be a dupe for the Benefit They’re Real (the wand is very similar). I didn’t really care for this mascara. It was kind of messy and goopy and I ended up not using it much, so it just got all dried out as a result.

And there you have it!

Ok so that should do it for today. As always, thank you all so much for reading! Enjoy the rest of your day and I’ll see you again Friday with an new post! 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Empties Strike Back!

  1. That Garnier hair spray looks interesting! I’ve been looking for a great hair spray for humidity since I ran out of mine. Will definitely pick this up as well with the smoothing milk:) also those wipes seem good too. Might pick them up as well😊

    Like

  2. Another person who likes the Physician’s Formula skincare line – I used their serum and I was very pleasantly surprised! Yes, too bad they discontinued it, I guess people just didn’t know what to make of the brand selling skincare.
    I really want to try the MAC Fix+ spray in the coconut scent although I don’t really find Fix+ to be all that great for the price. I mainly used it to get rid of the powdery look after I set my foundation.
    Is the EL Double Wear your daily foundation? I really should get a sample to try.
    I’m currently using the Lorac primer, it’s the 2nd tube I’m using and I love it too. I had the same issue with the UDPP – too drying. The other higher end primer I really love is the Nars one but I hate the doe-foot applicator!

    Like

Leave a Comment

