Review & Swatches: CoverGirl Limited Edition Star Wars Coloricious Lipsticks

Hey guys! Happy Friday! Ready for the weekend?

Today’s post is going to be a review and swatches of the limited edition Star Wars Coloricious Lipsticks by CoverGirl. So grab yourself a blue milk and your lightsaber and let’s going!

IMG_6462

Now I don’t know about you, but I am a HUGE Star Wars fan. I’ve loved the movies since I was a kid. I had Star Wars action figures I played with more than dolls. Not a fan of the prequels (outside of Ewan McGregor… but I’d pay $20 to watch him tie his shoes, so that says it all right there. LOL!), but I am so excited for the new movies.

Anyhow, to celebrate the upcoming new Star Wars film, The Force Awakens, CoverGirl came out with a limited edition collectionย of lipsticks, mascaras and nail polish. I managed to score a couple of the lipsticks from the collection. I admit I mainly wanted them for the packaging as GoverGirl products and I have never really gotten along over the years.

Out of the 6 lipsticks available, I got shade 30 – Red and shade 70 – Nude. The other colors in the collection are Silver, Gold, Lilac & Dark Plum.

These lipsticks are infused with shea butter, so they’re supposed to be moisturizing. They also claim to have long lasting color.

Let’s start with shade 30 – Red. This is a really pretty red shade. It’s also unique as it’s got quite a bit of shimmer and you might even say a bit of micro glitter in it. But that makes sense since this is a lipstick with an outer space theme. Not a shade I would wear everyday, but a fun color for special occasions and the like (and especially with Halloween coming up next weekend).

IMG_6463

Shade 70 – Nude, is a little more wearable. It’s a pretty peachy nude color. It also has a lot of shimmer in it like the red shade. You could wear this on its own or use it as a topper over another lipstick to glam things up a bit.

IMG_6464

Both of these lipsticks have good pigmentation and apply nicely. They feel moisturizing on the lips thanks to the shea butter. I’m not sure how good wear time is though as I’ve only applied them to my lips a couple times just to see how they look on. I’m guessing you’d get average wear time out of these (a few hours if not eating or drinking).

You want swatches? We got swatches!

Red on top; Nude on bottom

Red on top; Nude on bottom

These lipsticks are hard to track down. I got the nude shade online through Ulta and I happened to find the red shade at the Walgreens near my apartment complex. I looked on Ulta’s site and they’re not available on there anymore, but I did find them on drugstore.com (all but the nude shade are in stock) and Target’s site has most of the shades in stock as well. Walmart’s site says they’re only carrying these in their stores, so you might want to check out your local ones. They retail for $5.94 to $8.49 depending on where you purchase from.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you been able to score any of these limited edition lipsticks? If you have, what do you think of them? Sound off below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope you all have a fun-filled weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post. And may the Force be with you! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

20 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: CoverGirl Limited Edition Star Wars Coloricious Lipsticks

  1. I did see some of the Star Wars makeup in either Target or Walgreens, I forget. The lipstick swatches look nice. I wish the packaging was done a bit better rather than the plain black case with the silver lettering. How cool would of it been it they used some of the character as the caps from the movie? I would of bought myself an R2D2 or C3PO. lol Eh, it would be cool if MAC came out with something Star Wars based. Anyways, I loved this post. Good to know theres a few wearable colors.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When we were at the in-laws over Thanksgiving, they asked my SO if he still wanted his toys from he was young… turns out it was an Ewok village and the Millennium Falcon in their original boxes! Needless to say, SO told his parents to keep them, haha! They’ve been played with so they’re a bit battered – not sure if he would ever sell them.
    The nude shade from this collection looks good – most other colours aren’t that wearable. I was thinking I wanted one of the mascaras just for the packaging but I’ve not seen ANY of these here in Canada. I bet they won’t be launching them here. The packaging is just ok – I wish they had partnered with MAC or something to have more of a budget to make the packaging awesome. Can you imagine if there was a compact that was the Millennium Falcon?! Or a lipbalm that was R2-D2? Gah gah gah…!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So…. I’m a bit older than most of the bloggers (but shhhh, I pretend to be 32). Anyhow, I remember when the Star Wars A New Hope came out in Theatres and I went to see it. Star Wars has been in my life since I can remember. So, while I’m not a die hard fan, I have 3 boys and it’s just engrained in me. So, of course, I have to have the lippies! I must have driven around, seriously, to 15 stores total looking for polish, all the mascaras, and the lipsticks. Never could build a full set. So hard to find. Then I walked into Target a couple of weeks ago? And OMG, I was first to touch the display they put out and I bought all 6 shades. Now the question is…. do I use them? Do I save them?

    I’m Janine BTW – sorry I didn’t introduce myself! I follow Stash Matters and saw you on her site. XO

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

