NYX Lippies – Review & Swatches

Hey guys! Happy mid-week to you!

Today’s post is going to be a review and swatches of some lip products from NYX Cosmetics I’ve picked up recently.

IMG_6198

If you’ve been following my blog for awhile, you’ll know NYX is one of my favorite drugstore brands. I’ve loved just about everything I’ve tried from them so far (though there have been a few duds). I do love their lip products though and excited to share these with you guys…

First up is the Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick in the shade Soft-Spoken. This was the one shade in the whole collection that I really wanted most. It’s a really pretty nude mauve shade that’s perfect for an everyday lip. The formula of these liquid lipsticks is nice – creamy, smooth and lightweight. What I’ve learned with liquid lipsticks is that less is more when applying them. That way you get more even application, it dries faster and doesn’t crumble/flake. It takes a minute or so for it to dry but it doesn’t feel uncomfortable on the lips once it does. It’s not over-drying is what I mean. As long as you’re not eating or drinking, you’ll get at least 4 or 5 hours of wear out of these. These liquid lipsticks are very affordable at $7, but they’re always sold out on the NYX site (but you can find them on Ulta’s site and in some physical Ulta stores too).

IMG_6191

IMG_6195

Next is the Butter Lipstick in the shade Licorice. Since I found out I can pull off a vampy lip, I’ve been going a little bonkers grabbing various vampy-looking lippies to try out. This is a gorgeous deep burgundy shade. I love the formula of the Butter Lipsticks (I also have the shade Pops). They’re super smooth and creamy. They apply great and have really good pigmentation. Apparently NYX has either recently re-named all their Butter Lipsticks or have retired the original shades/names and replaced them with new versions with updated names (on the NYX site, what looks like this shade is now called Moonlit Night). These lipsticks cost around $6, which is a good deal for a good quality lipstick like these.

IMG_6192

IMG_6196

And lastly we have one of the Jumbo Lip Pencils in the shade Honey Nectar. I’ve never seen anyone talk about the Jumbo Lip Pencils, so I decided to get one to try out, and this is the shade I got. Honey Nectar is described on the NYX site as a “soft brown” shade. What? I see it more as a peachy-pink with a slight brown undertone color. This jumbo pencil is nice as it can be used as a liner or on its own as a lipstick. It has good pigmentation and goes on smooth. Wear time is maybe around a few hours if you’re eating/drinking. I’m pretty impressed with this pencil and plan on picking up at least a couple more. They sell for just $4.50 which is a bargain.

IMG_6193

IMG_6197

So there you have it! Have you tried any of these NYX lippies?

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope the rest of your day is good to you (and if not, punch it in the throat!) and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

14 thoughts on “NYX Lippies – Review & Swatches

  1. I like the look of the Jumbo Lip Pencils in Honey Nectar – I always see those jumbo lip pencils but never bought them (although I did jump the jumbo EYE pencil wagon…) I think NYX was one of the earliest brands to offer jumbo pencils! I only own 2 NYX lip products: Xtreme Lip Cream and Mega Shine Lip Gloss – I can’t wait to try more. I have my heart set on one of the butter glosses.

    Like

  2. These. Are. Gorgeous! Love the butter lipstick and the liquid suede is on my list! Def. gotta get a couple on my next trip to Ulta – or I should say my “weekly trip” to Ulta. LMAO!

    Like

  3. Nice review! I love Nyx’s Chunky Dunk moisturizing lip crayons — easy to use, subtle color, easy to draw a good line (so don’t need a separate liner, since I don’t get any bleeding with the product). As we go into the holidays, look for various lip sets from Nyx at Ulta, great way to get a really good deal on them!

    Like

Leave a Comment

