Review: Maybelline Superstay Better Skin Foundation

Hey guys! How’s your week going?

Today’s post is going to be a review of the Maybelline Superstay Better Skin Foundation.

IMG_6093

Maybelline came out with this foundation the middle of this past summer I think. I had seen a lot of YouTubers talking about it when it first came out. I finally got around to picking this up last month to try out. I picked up the shade 25 Nude Beige, which was a pretty decent match.

This foundation claims to improve your skin in 3 weeks. It’s supposed to reduce the appearance of redness, spots, bumps and dullness and even out your skin tone while giving flawless coverage that lasts all day. It’s infused with the antioxidant Actyl-C, which they say is a more durable form of Vitamin C. So there’s a lot Maybelline is promising here. Oh and it also contains SPF 15.

First of all, let’s talk about the packaging. It comes with a pump! Yasss baby! ALL foundations need to come with a pump, you know? So that’s really nice. Shade selection could be way better as there are only 12 shades, so the dark skinned girls are kind of SOL on this one, which is a bummer.

The consistency of this foundation is kind of thick. It provides medium coverage that’s buildable to full coverage and is supposed to be fine for all skin types. For me, one layer provides decent coverage and I just use a little extra to cover up my more problem areas. It dries kind of fast, so it’s best to apply this to your face in sections and blend out quickly. it can look a little cakey if you go too gung-ho and apply it with a heavy hand. Once it dries it gives a natural finish, so if you’re someone who likes a more matte finish or is oily, setting with powder is essential.

IMG_6095

How does it wear? It lasts me through a workday and a few hours extra. It does break down around my nose and chin (which I’ve mentioned before are the oiliest parts of my face). A touch-up and re-powder fixes that though. I have noticed though even when I initially set my whole face with powder, after a few hours, my face will feel a little tacky if I happen to touch it. Luckily I keep a compact of pressed powder with me in my bag for touch-ups. I do want to note though if you have dry skin, this foundation may not work for you. I had a dry patch near my chin for a few days due to spot treating a zit that decided to come out and party, and this foundation totally clung to that dry patch and looked kind of nasty and flaky.

IMG_6096

And how does it deliver on its promise to improve your skin after 3 weeks of wearing it? Well, I’ll admit I haven’t worn it every single day for 3 weeks, but I have used it a lot. Honestly though, I haven’t seen any improvement to my skin. Any spots I have, have not gotten lighter or my redness less noticeable. This was a huge bummer for me as I really wanted this to work and be a potential dupe for the Too Faced Born This Way foundation. Sadly that’s not the case.

Overall, I thought this foundation was ok, but not great. It didn’t really wow me like I was hoping it would. But this might work better on someone else. I’ll keep using this though until it’s gone as it’s a halfway decent everyday type of foundation. Good enough for out running errands, a workday and whatnot.

The Maybelline Superstay Better Skin Foundation runs anywhere from $9.98 to like $11.99 depending on where you purchase it. I got it for the lower price at Walmart, plus I had a coupon for $2 off, so I got it for $7.98, so keep that in mind.

And that should do it! Have you tried this foundation out yet? If so, what do you think of it? Sound off below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! Have a good one and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

 

9 thoughts on “Review: Maybelline Superstay Better Skin Foundation

  1. Hmm I was curious about this one but I think I’ll pass – my current drugstore favourite foundation is the Cover Girl Outlast foundation which is a long wear foundation but isn’t cakey or thick. I’m so impressed with that one! Have you tried it?

    Like

  2. Every time I go to the drugstore I pick it up but then after browsing around I remember that every single Maybelline foundation I’ve tried has been not so good:/ Especially for the higher price point I second guess it and always put it back. I always experience major oxidation with Maybelline foundations :/ after soooo many raved reviews about this one I really want to try it but your review has helped me make up my mind and save my money 😊👍👍👍great review!:)

    Like

Leave a Comment

