Review: NYX Shine Killer

Hey guys! How was your weekend? Do anything fun?

Today’s post is going to be a quick review of the NYX Shine Killer primer. You ready? Let’s get going!

IMG_5439

I picked up this primer at Ulta awhile back as I thought it looked interesting and I’m always looking for new primers to try out. The tube contains 0.67 fl oz of product.

Here’s a product description and claims (via the NYX website):

Your ultimate weapon in the war on shine. Smooth it on before your favorite foundation for a fresh flawless marvelously matte look that lasts and lasts. Wear it solo too for a naturally shine-free look.

This primer comes out as a clear gel/silicone. For claiming to have mattifying properties, it looks shiny. But when you apply it to your face, the shiny goes away and it acts like most other silicone-based primers. It does take away some of the shine, but not all of it. It grabs onto foundation pretty well and helps it last a long time.

IMG_5440

I’ve used this primer with all sorts of high end and drugstore foundations and it has worked well with all of them, which is pretty impressive as sometimes some primers work good with some foundations but not others.

I was hoping this would be a dupe for the Make Up For Ever mattifying primer, but it’s really not. So I still use the MUFE one on my nose and chin and I’ll use this one by NYX on the rest of my face. Overall, I like this primer quite a bit and will probably repurchase it when I run out.

You can find this primer at Ulta, Target and select CVS locations that carry NYX. It retails for between $12.99 and $13.99 depending on where you purchase it. You can use the $3.50 off $10 coupon Ulta usually has, so that will save you a few bucks.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this primer? If you’re an oily or combo/oily person, what is your favorite mattifying primer currently available?

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope the rest of your Monday is good to you and I’ll see you again Wednesday with a new post! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Review: NYX Shine Killer

Leave a Comment

