Liquid Lipstick Review & Swatches: The Balm, Kat Von D & ColourPop

Hey there, beauties! Happy Hump Day! How’s your week going?

For today’s post, I’ll be reviewing and showing swatches of some liquid lipsticks I’ve recently added to my collection.

IMG_5237

The first liquid lipstick I’m going to talk about is from The Balm. They came out with a new line of liquid lipsticks over the summer called Meet Matt(e) Hughes. The collection claims to be long lasting, have a comfortable matte finish and not feel clingy on your lips.

IMG_5240

I picked up Charming, which is described on The Balm’s website as a “rich mauve”. This shade is so pretty. It definitely is a rich mauve shade, which is perfect for fall. Like most liquid lipsticks these days, the wand has a doe foot applicator. It applies smooth and dries completely matte within a minute or so of applying. To me, it’s not over-drying (but I also wear a balm under every lipstick or gloss I wear and I always exfoliate my lips beforehand if I’m wearing a matte lipstick that day) and feels comfortable on my lips. If you’re not eating or drinking, these will last several hours. But if you are eating or drinking, liquid lipsticks will eventually re-liquefy and you’ll need to re-apply after a meal. These liquid lipsticks by The Balm wear off pretty evenly, which is good (I hate it when lipsticks fade off uneven and look patchy and weird). The best part… these liquid lipsticks from The Balm smell like chocolate mint. Almost like a Thin Mint Girl Scout cookie! But if you’re sensitive to smells or don’t like your lip products smelling like anything, you wouldn’t like this. The smell does fade though after applying. I plan on picking up a couple more colors in this line (Committed and Honest are the ones I have my eye on). These come in 8 shades and retail for $17. You can find The Balm for sale at Kohl’s (not always the best selection) and on The Balm’s website.

Next up is the Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in the shade Double Dare. I picked this up on a total whim at Sephora last month. I wanted Lolita (the one EVERYONE raves about) or Bow and Arrow, but of course both of those popular shades were out of stock. Double Dare caught my eye though and after swatching it, I decided to purchase.

IMG_5239

This shade is described as a “cocoa blush” and I can kind of see that. It’s got some brownish tones along with a rosy pink. It’s a very pretty color and understandable why this one is considered a “cult favorite” and is often out of stock.

It doesn’t really smell like anything. It goes on nicely and gives you a little time to make sure you’e applied it evenly before it dries. I’d say it dries totally matte within a minute or two. On me, I get a little bit of sticky/tacky when I press my lips together while wearing this liquid lipstick, but it doesn’t bother me. It feels a little dry on the lips but not overly so (but wearing a balm underneath always helps). It lasts a long time as long as you’re not eating or drinking. But I’ve gotten at least 5 or 6 hours of wear out of this with drinking through a straw and light snacking at work. It doesn’t totally last through a full meal, but it doesn’t fade 100% either. There’s still something there, but not much. It fades pretty evenly though, which is good. I still have my eye on Lolita… just hoping I can finally score that sucker (or Lolita II when it comes out) one day. These retail for $20 and come in 28 shades. Kat Von D is a Sephora exclusive brand.

And the final liquid lipstick I’ve recently picked up is one of the Ultra Matte Lip colors from ColourPop. I got the shade Bumble, which is described as a “dusty warm terracotta”, which is very accurate. This color is gorgeous and perfect for fall.

IMG_5238

It doesn’t have any real smell and applies nicely, but it dries really fast (within 20 seconds or so), so if you make any mistakes, you’re kind of screwed and would have to start over from scratch. These suckers dry super matte just like their name implies, which means they can be a little uncomfortable on the lips if you have naturally dry lips, so wearing a balm underneath is almost essential. That being said, they stay put for hours when not eating or drinking. Sadly, I find this shade to fade off a bit unevely, which is kind of a pain. But it’s such a pretty color I just suck it up and bring it with me for re-application if I’m wearing it where I may be that day. But I honestly don’t know if I would purchase another of these. I do however LOVE their normal Lippie Stix. These come in 33 shades and retail for just $6 though (which is a bargain for a liquid lipstick) and you can get them on ColourPop’s website.

How about some swatches?

NO FLASH PHOTO

FLASH PHOTO

And that should do it! Have you tried any of these liquid lipsticks? Which is your favorite?

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope the rest of your day is good to you and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

15 thoughts on “Liquid Lipstick Review & Swatches: The Balm, Kat Von D & ColourPop

  1. I’ve tried the KVD Everlasting Lipstick in a red shade and it did not stay put on me whatsoever. I looked like the Joker. Even drinking water smeared it all over. 😦 I wonder if the other shades would be different though. All of these are pretty shades but I really love the CP shade. Absolutely gorgeous. Too bad it’s not the best.

    Like

  2. I have the Colourpop Ultra Matte in Bumble and it definitely fades unevenly. I also find it to flake. However I also have them in Lychee, Highball, and Avenue and they fade much more evenly. Actually Highball stayed on for over 5 hours, including through a burger for lunch. So it seems like it depends on the colors if you do ever decide you want to try another one.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhhhhhhhhh they are all so pretty! The Balm one looked so beautiful on you when you wore it for lunch the other day and dang it if I didn’t forget the name. I’ve been meaning to ask you what the shade was ever sense! Problem solved 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

