August 2015 Favorites!

August Faves

Hey there, beauties! How was your weekend?

Today’s post is going to be a rundown of my favorites for the month of August. Feels like I just did my July favorites not too long ago. Crazy how time flies by!

Ok first up is the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Champagne Pop. As you’re probably well aware, this is the collaboration Jaclyn Hill did with Becca. I flipping love this highlighter so much. It can really pack a punch, so I use a light hand and build it up to my liking. By the way, I love using the Real Techniques Setting Brush with this highlighter. It picks up just the right amount of product and lays it down perfectly. But I just love the color of this highlighter and how you can use it so many different ways.

IMG_4944

My next favorite is the Lorac Pro Metal Palette. I just did a full review and swatches of this palette on Friday, so I won’t rehash it all again here, but this palette is so gorgeous.

IMG_5129

And next is the Benefit Hoola bronzer. I’ve been using this pretty much every day this month. It’s such a perfect neutral bronzer for everyday or a little light contouring.

IMG_5144

Next up is the Makeup Revolution Girls On Film Salvation palette. This is totally the sleeper hit of the month for me. I wasn’t really expecting a whole lot from this $10 palette but holy jeez… the shadows are so gorgeous and pigmented! Plus this palette is named after a song by my favorite band so… bonus points right there!

IMG_4921

My next favorite is the Too Faced Born This Way Foundation. Yes I caved and got a full size bottle (thanks to a Sephora gift card a friend gave me for my birthday). I use this in the shade Light Beige. I’ve really grown to like this foundation a lot. It really gives me a flawless finish and I love how you can build up the coverage without looking cake-face. It does break down around my nose and chin (the oiliest parts of my face) the fastest, but using a good mattifying primer underneath (I use the Make Up For Ever Step 1 Mattifier) and setting with a good powder over it helps a lot – plus nothing a quick touch-up can’t fix!

IMG_5146

Up next is the Coty Airspun Powder. I’ve seen several YouTubers talking about this powder and I remember my grandma using this powder, so I picked up a jar at Walmart since it’s under $6. This stuff is awesome! It totally has a old lady perfume smell, but if you don’t mind that, this is such a great powder for setting foundation/concealer. I use it in Translucent Extra Coverage and it’s totally been my go-to for setting my foundation.

IMG_5143

Next is one of the new Meet Matt(e) Hughes liquid lipsticks from The Balm. I have it in the shade Charming, which is a gorgeous deep mauve shade. I’ll have a full review and swatch of this here soon, so stay tuned for that! For now I’m just going to say I really love this lipstick and anxious to try more shades from this line.

IMG_5145

My next favorite I’ve only had for a couple weeks, but I like it so much I had to include it here. It’s the Chapstick Hydration Lock lip balm. I found this on clearance at Walgreens, so not sure if they’re still making it or if Walgreens just had these marked down to make room for new merchandise. Anyhow, this lip balm claims to provide 8 hours of moisture and had some hyaluronic properties to give lips a “smoother, fuller look”. I got it in the scent Vanilla Creme (which smells like a vanilla cupcake). I don’t know what kind of black magic is in this little tube, but it makes my lips feel so soft and smooths them out a little, so this balm is so perfect to wear under matte lipsticks of any kind.

IMG_5148

And my last favorite isn’t a beauty product, but a drink from Starbucks. This is the same drink Jaclyn Hill has raved about in some of her videos. It looked really good so I wanted to try it and see for myself. It’s the Passion Tango Tea Lemonade, sweetened, and a pump of raspberry syrup (for a grande  – if ordering a venti you’ll want 2 or 3 pumps of raspberry syrup). It’s REALLY good and I can see why Jaclyn likes it. I got it 3 times this month myself!

IMG_4834

And that’s it! What were some of your favorites from this past month? Tell me about them below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope the rest of your Monday is good to you (and if it misbehaves, kick it where it counts!) and I’ll see you again Wednesday with a new post! 🙂

5 thoughts on “August 2015 Favorites!

  1. AMAZING post! Loved all your favorite products!!! I will definitely purchase the Born this Way foundation from Too Faced because I really need that flawless, non cakey look! 🙂
    Mariangela ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

