Review: EmaxDesign Makeup Brushes

Hey guys! How’s it going? How was your weekend? Do anything fun?

I was a busy bee again. Friday night my boyfriend’s band had a gig. Then Saturday I got to hang out with the awesome Kaily of Hello Kaily. And Sunday, my boyfriend and I hung out and had some fun at Ikea.

Ok so today’s post is going to be a review of some makeup brushes by EmaxDesign. So grab yourself a beverage and a snack and let’s get the party started!

IMG_5109

I got these brushes a couple months ago on Amazon. They were offered as a set of 12 brushes for under $12 when I purchased them (they’re currently listed at $14.99 on Amazon – crazy how prices change on there all the time). I’d never heard of EmaxDesign before, but for that price, I was game to give them a fair shake.

The brush set includes:

  • Foundation Brush
  • Big Eye Shadow Brush
  • Highlight Brush
  • Eye Smudge Brush
  • Concealer Brush
  • Eyebrow Brush
  • Small Eye Shadow Brush
  • Blusher Brush
  • Eyelash Brush
  • Multifunction Foundation Brush
  • Multifunction Blush Brush
  • Mini Kabuki Brush
  • Travel Bag
Left to Right: Foundation Brush, Big Eye Shadow Brush, Highlight Brush, Eye Smudge Brush, concealer Brush, Eyebrow Brush, Small Eye Shadow Brush, Blusher Brush, Eyelash Brush, Multifunction Foundation Brush, Multifunction Blush Brush, Mini Kabuki Brush

Left to Right: Foundation Brush, Big Eye Shadow Brush, Highlight Brush, Eye Smudge Brush, concealer Brush, Eyebrow Brush, Small Eye Shadow Brush, Blusher Brush, Eyelash Brush, Multifunction Foundation Brush, Multifunction Blush Brush, Mini Kabuki Brush

The brushes have bamboo handles and synthetic bristles made of taklon, which are very soft. They feel like nice, high quality brushes. However, the way these brushes are categorized and how I use them are totally different.

What they call a “foundation brush” to me is more like a blush brush. And what they call their “big eye shadow brush” is actually more like a foundation brush (it is WAY too big to even consider using it on your eyes). The “eye smudge brush” is actually a pencil brush and the “highlight brush” is actually a nice, fluffy eye blending brush. I like using the concealer brush as an eye shadow brush, especially with my ColourPop shadows or other metallic and shimmery shadows. The “multifunction foundation brush” is more like a deluxe kabuki brush, which I like to use for bronzer.

My favorite brushes in this set are the eye smudge brush/pencil brush, highlight brush/fluffy eye blending brush, concealer blush/flat shadow brush & the multifunction foundation brush. But the other brushes are really nice too. I just seem to reach for these most often. But all the brushes in this set are really nice and apply/blend makeup beautifully. Since the bristles are synthetic, they’ll work with both powder and cream types of makeup.

My favorite brushes in the set.

My favorite brushes in the set.

The brushes wash up and dry really nicely and they haven’t shed in the 2 months I’ve been using them. So they’re definitely well made.

So do I recommend checking these brushes out? Absolutely! I’ve been very impressed with these brushes. I’ve seen EmaxDesign has other brush sets available as well. I’ll probably check out another of their sets sometime in the near future.

Ok that should do it for today. Have you tried these brushes or other brushes by EmaxDesign? If you have, what do you think of them? Let me know your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading. Enjoy the rest of your day and I’ll see you again Wednesday with a new post! šŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Review: EmaxDesign Makeup Brushes

Leave a Comment

