Revenge of the Empties – Summer 2015 Edition

Happy Friday, guys! Ready for the weekend? Got anything fun planned?

Tomorrow I’m going to an all festival concert called Unityfest. Who’s playing? A bunch of awesome artists from the 80s & early 90s – Culture Club, Howard Jones, Marc Almond (Soft Cell), C+C Music Factory (feat. Freedom Williams) – the odd duck of the bunch really – My Life With the Thrill Kill Kult & Book of Love. It should be a lot of fun. I’ve been a fan of most of these groups/artists since I was a kid.

Ok so today’s post is going to be the mother-lode of empties posts. I’ve had this stuff piling up for months and I couldn’t stand looking at the pile anymore. We got hair care! We got skincare! We got makeup! You ready? Let’s do this thingy!

IMG_4849

Up first…. hair care!

So there’s a lot of hairsprays. A LOT of them.

IMG_4850

Tresemme Tres Two hairspray – This is usually in my regular rotation of hairsprays. The hold is pretty good but also flexible. I would repurchase.

John Frieda Luxurious Volume All-Day Hold hairspray – This was actually one of my mom’s. It’s ok. It definitely has a good hold (almost too good), but I wasn’t crazy about the smell. I probably would not purchase this myself.

Garnier Fructis Anti-Humidity hairspray – I like this one. It does work in varying degrees of humidity, but when it’s soul-sucking humid…. yeah it doesn’t work as well as it promises. But overall I do like this hairspray and have purchased multiple cans of it.

Suave Professionals Touchable Finish hairspray – I love this one. It has good hold without making your hair feel stiff/crunchy. And I actually like the smell. I’ve purchased this in the past and I’ll purchase it again.

IMG_4852

Garnier Fructis Anti-Humidity Smoothing Milk – I love this stuff. I’ve gone though at least 4 or 5 bottles of it over the last couple years. It doesn’t weigh my hair down and actually makes my hair feel soft. It does an ok job against humidity. Yeah will definitely repurchase.

Garnier Fructis Flat Iron Protector – It says “flat iron protector” but it’s really just a heat protecting spray. I use this on my own hair as well as my hair extensions when styling. I’ve gone through several bottles of this as well and will purchase again.

Garnier Fructis Moroccan Oil – I use this sparingly. Like once a week. I also use this sometimes on my hair extensions as a nourishing treatment so they don’t get dried out. I will admit I like the Suave Professionals spray oil better, so not sure if I’ll repurchase this.

IMG_4853

Psssst! Dry Shampoo – I like this dry shampoo quite a bit. It’s a classic. I’ve gone though 4 or 5 cans of it in the last year. I do like the Batiste better, but I’d repurchase this one if I found it on sale at Ulta for like buy one, get one free.

Ok onto skincare!

IMG_4854

Ulta brand Mandarin Mint Body Butter – I love this stuff. Seriously love it. It smells so good (I love citrus smells, especially in the morning) and is so moisturizing. I already purchased a new one as soon as this one was empty.

Foxbrim Orange Blossom Water Toner – I loved this. It was a PR sample that was sent to me for review, but I loved it. Best toned I’ve ever used. I was so sad when I used the last of it. I will be buying a new bottle very soon.

Garnier Moisture Rescue Gel-Cream moisturizer – Another love here. This has become my holy grail daytime moisturizer. I use the kind for normal/combo skin (they also make a version for dry skin). I love how fast it absorbs, it smells great and a little goes a long way. I already repurchased a new jar as soon as this was empty.

And finally… makeup!

IMG_4856

Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation – This is my holy grail drugstore foundation. I use shade 201 Classic Beige. It applies and blends out great on me, dries to a demi-matte/satin finish and it does last all day – even in heat & humidity. Already repurchased.

Rimmel Stay Matte Primer – This is a pretty good drugstore primer. It does help keep you matte and helps your makeup last longer. Already repurchased this as well.

NYX HD Concealer – I’ve gone through so many tubes of this over the last year and a half it’s ridiculous. LOL! I love this concealer though. It’s got good coverage. I love using the shade Light for highlighting the bridge of my nose and center of my forehead. And yes I’ve already repurchased this too.

IMG_4851

Epielle Makeup Wipes – I love these wipes. You can get a pack of 30 for just $1 at Big Lots. Epielle is a Korean brand. The wipes are nice and wet and do a good job removing my makeup – even the tough waterproof stuff. Even though I use my Makeup Eraser a lot now, I still like having a pack of these on hand as backups. They come in lots of varieties and my favorites are the Vitamin C and Green Tea ones.

IMG_4855

NYX Matte Finishing Spray – I love this setting spray! It helps set my makeup and keeps it staying matte longer. It also works good as a makeup refresher or even spraying it on my face before makeup. If you saw my Birthday Haul post the other day, you’ll know I just purchased 2 more bottles.

IMG_4857

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara – This has been my go-to mascara since the 80s. It’s a cult classic and for good reason. I like using the waterproof version on my lower lashes. And I’ve already purchased a new tube.

L’Oreal Magic Perfecting Base – I love this stuff so much. I’m still working on all the little travel size jars I scored back in December or January at Dollar Tree (sadly I’m on the last one now). I love how well it fills in my pores and gives a nice, smooth base for makeup application. I’ll probably purchase a full size jar once I’m completely out.

NYX Microbrow Pencil – It took me 2 months to get through one of these, which isn’t too bad. I love this pencil. It doesn’t make my brows look overdrawn or overly fake looking and it fills in sparse areas really well. It lasts all day too. I already purchased a new one as soon as this one ran out.

And that’s it! What products have you gone through recently? Tell me about them below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading and your support. I hope you have a fantastic weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Revenge of the Empties – Summer 2015 Edition

Leave a Comment

