Review: NYC Big Bold Curl Mascara

Hey there beauties! How was your weekend? Do anything fun?

My birthday was on Saturday. Didn’t do much during the day, but that night my boyfriend’s band had an “unplugged” gig, which was fun. Then yesterday my boyfriend and I went to see Ant-Man (which was pretty good though it was a little slow at first).

Ok so today’s post is going to be a review of the NYC Big Bold Curl Mascara. You got your beverage of choice ready? Let’s go!

IMG_4830

I picked this mascara up at Target awhile back as it looked interesting (I also had a coupon for $1 off any NYC item – It normally retails for around $4.99).

Here’s a product description and claims from the NYC website:

Skyscraper high, outrageously thick and super sexy. NYC’s Big Bold Curl mascara gives your lashes up to x12 more volume and up to 99% more lift. One stroke multiplies your lashes by up to 147%. There are no clumps , just full-on drama and turned-right-up impact. Lashes get curled from corner to corner.

This mascara only comes in one color, Extreme Black, and it’s not a waterproof formula. The brush is bigger than I was expecting it to be and the bristles are curved. The mascara formula isn’t dry or watery… it’s kind of in the middle. It’s quite pigmented and goes on easy enough. After just a couple coats, I could see my lashes looked a little fuller. My lashes already curl a little on their own (thankfully, because eyelash curlers and I do not get along), but I could see this mascara did give them a little extra lift and curl, which was nice. I haven’t noticed any major clumping overall either. I saw some reviews that mentioned it started flaking after maybe 5-6 hours, but I haven’t experienced that myself.

IMG_4831

Removing this mascara at the end of the day isn’t too bad. It comes off easy using both a makeup wipe and my Makeup Eraser and doesn’t make a big “raccoon eye” mess while removing either, which was a big plus.

As for the 12 times more volume and one stroke multiplying your lashes up to 147% claims… I don’t know where they get those numbers but they’re way off on both bases. But I’m not saying it’s a bad mascara, because it’s not. I just don’t know where makeup companies get these kind of numbers from. My only real complaint about this mascara is the brush is a bit too large and you can easily get product on your lids and under your eyes if you’re not careful when applying.

IMG_4832

Overall, I like this mascara and I keep it in regular rotation with my other mascaras I use regularly. It’s a decent drugstore one for sure.

You can find NYC products at Target, Walmart, Walgreens, CVS and probably other drugstores and mass merchandisers.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this mascara? Do you like it? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! Enjoy the rest of your day and I’ll see you again Wednesday with a new post! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Review: NYC Big Bold Curl Mascara

Leave a Comment

