First Impressions: Too Faced Born This Way Foundation

Hey beauties! Happy Friday! Got anything fun planned this weekend?

Tomorrow is my birthday, so I’ll be spending the day celebrating (my boyfriend’s band is playing tomorrow night too so we’re kind of having a little party as well, so that should be fun). I’ll be sharing a big birthday beauty haul with you guys here on the blog probably next week, so keep your eyes peeled for that!

Today’s post is going to be my first impressions of the new Born This Way foundation by Too Faced. So grab your favorite beverage and a sweet treat and let’s get going!

Too Faced Born This Way

As you probably already know, Too Faced came out with their Born This Way foundation last month and the beauty community has been raving about it. I got myself a sample at Sephora so I could try it out and see if it’s worth the hype it’s been getting.

Here’s the low-down on this foundation (from the Too Faced website):

Born This Way is an oil-free foundation that masterfully diffuses the line between makeup and skin. For coverage so undetectable, you can’t see the makeup and you can’t see imperfections—all that’s left is naturally radiant skin that looks like you were Born This Way.

This revolutionary foundation is infused with a potent combination of Coconut Water to naturally replenish moisture levels; nature’s resilient Alpine Rose to brighten the skin’s appearance and promote elasticity and Hyaluronic Acid for a smoother, more youthful appearance.

This foundation claims to have medium coverage that’s buildable to full coverage, and as you know, I love me a good full coverage foundation. It also claims to be suitable for all skin types. I also like the full size of this foundation comes with a pump. Why don’t all foundations in bottles in the US come with pumps like in Europe and Canada? We want pumps, makeup companies!

Anyhow, I got the shade Light Beige, which ended up being a pretty good match overall.

So I’ve been able to get a few uses out of the sample I got from Sephora. What do I think?

The consistency of this foundation isn’t super thick but it isn’t real liquidy either. It’s kind of in the middle. It applies nicely. I liked using this best with my Beauty Blender. One layer gives the medium coverage promised and a 2nd layer will give full coverage. It doesn’t dry super fast, so you got time to properly blend it out, and when it does dry, it’s a satin-like finish. However, the claim of “you can’t see the makeup” isn’t really true. After applying and looking in the mirror… yeah I can tell I have makeup on and can see it. But to the average Joe who’s not really paying total attention, this would come off as not having foundation on at all. So it gives a nice natural look that’s not cakey and glaringly obvious you’re wearing foundation.

So how does this foundation wear? Not too bad! After around 6 hours or so I noticed my nose and chin getting a bit shiny, but those are the oiliest parts of my face and ANY foundation I wear eventually starts to break down in those areas first no matter what primer or setting powder I use. Just a quick touch-up though and I was good to go. On the parts of my face that are normal, I didn’t see any breakdown of this foundation at all. So it’s longer lasting than I was expecting it to be.

So overall, I liked this foundation more than I was expecting to. I have heard some don’t like this foundation at all. I was talking to a Sephora employee last weekend and she told me she hated it as it separated on her face really bad for some reason, so she was disappointed as she wanted to like it after all the positive reviews it’s gotten. So it’s obviously not for everyone. But would I purchase a full size? I might sometime.

This foundation retails for $39 and currently comes in 18 shades, with 6 new shades coming out this fall (4 deep/dark and 2 light from what I’ve been hearing), for a total of 24 shades. You can find this foundation at Sephora, Ulta and the Too Faced website.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this foundation out? If so how did you like it? Let me know your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope you have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

8 thoughts on “First Impressions: Too Faced Born This Way Foundation

Leave a Comment

