How To Color Clip-In Hair Extensions At Home

Hey there, beauties! How’s your week going?

Today I thought I’d share with you a tutorial on how to color clip-in hair extensions at home. I recently had to color my newest set of extensions, so I documented the process to I could show you how it’s done (or at least how I do it). You ready? Let’s get going!

So you got your hair extensions, but they don’t match your own hair color. If they’re human hair extensions, they can be colored just like the hair on your head. It’s always best to go darker when coloring extensions as with most extension shades, they’ve already been colored to be the color they are (unless it’s blonde or black and sometimes brown). Bleaching extensions is a big no-no as it can damage them (you’re better off getting a set of blonde extensions if that’s the look you’re going for).

Since no one makes the shade I color my hair (medium reddish brown), I have to dye my extensions to match. You can either take them to your hair stylist to be done professionally, or if you know what you’re doing, you can do it yourself at home. Since I’ve been coloring my hair at home on and off for over 20 years, I got a pretty good idea of what I’m doing in that regard.

Ok, so here’s a list of things you’ll need:

IMG_4711

  • Your hair extensions (obviously)
  • Aluminum foil
  • A plastic bowl/color mixing bowl
  • A tint brush (you can get one at Sally Beauty for just a couple dollars)
  • An old bath towel
  • Hair color (be sure to use the gloves that come with it) – If you have super long extensions, you’ll need 2 boxes

Let’s break this down into easy to follow steps:

  1. First, lay your old towel on a flat surface (table, counter top, floor).
  2. Next, make sure your extensions are combed out and free of any tangles.
  3. Mix up the hair color according to the directions in the box. What I actually like to do is dump the developer and the color into my color mixing bowl and mix them up that way (using the tint brush to stir/mix).
  4. Once the color is mixed, rip off a long sheet of aluminum foil (make sure it’s a little longer than your extensions) and lay flat on the towel. Then take a weft of the extensions and place on the foil.

IMG_4713

  1. Next, start applying the color  to the extensions using the tint brush, working from the top to the ends. Be sure to saturate the hair with the color. Once one side is done, flip the weft over and repeat the process on the back to make sure you get all the hair on the weft covered.

IMG_4714

  1. Once the weft is completely saturated with hair color on both sides, fold the aluminum foil around the weft and set it aside.

Repeat steps 4-6 for each of the remaining wefts.

IMG_4726

Once all the wefts have been colored, allow them time for the color to process (about 40 minutes). Use this time to dump any unused color and rinse out the plastic bowl and tint brush.

After the processing time is up, take the wrapped wefts and the old towel into your bathroom. Unwrap each weft and rinse with cold water (to lock in the color) until the water runs clear, gently squeeze out the excess water and lay the weft flat on the old towel Repeat until all the wefts have been rinsed.

Next, spray each weft with a detangling spray (doesn’t matter what kind – I use the Suave Kids one as it works and I like the apple smell). Then using a wide tooth comb or a hair pick, gently comb out the wefts while they’re laying flat on the towel (use one hand to hold the top by the clips), working from the ends to the top. Repeat until each weft is combed out.

IMG_4716

Last, allow the wefts to air dry completely (NEVER use a hair dryer on the extensions as it could damage them).

If the color isn’t right the first time you dye your extensions, that’s ok. Just wait at least 24 hours and re-color them. This happens to me as well. They come out too light/bright, but the 2nd color job gets it right and the result matches my own hair… if not exactly then pretty darn close enough that they blend in with my own hair really nicely.

And that’s it! It’s definitely easier than it may initially seem. But if you have any doubts you could do it yourself, then it would be best to take the extensions to your stylist to color.

Ok that should do it for today! I hope you found this post informative and if you have any questions, leave them below in the comments and I’ll do my best to answer them.

As always, thank you all so much for reading. I hope the rest of your day is a great one and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “How To Color Clip-In Hair Extensions At Home

  1. Wow. I had never thought of doing this!! I have a few sets that match my hair ten years ago….
    I need to see if I can dig them out of my parent’s basement and give them a refresh!!! Great post!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

