Review: NYX Born to Glow Liquid Illuminator Highlighter in Gleam

Hey guys! How was your weekend? Do anything fun?

Today’s post is going to be a quick review of the NYX Born to Glow Liquid Illuminator highlighter in the shade Gleam. So grab yourself an beverage and let’s get going!

IMG_4740

So if you’ve been reading my blog, you’ll know I mentioned this highlighter last week in my July Favorites post.

I picked this up on a whim at Ulta awhile back when they had NYX products on sale 40% off as it looked interesting. Gleam is described on the NYX website as a “golden peach pearl”shade (they also have a shade called Sunbeam, which is described as a “pale pink pearl”, which is too light for my skin tone but would probably look really nice on fair/pale skin tones). I see Gleam as more of a rose gold shade.

Applying liquid highlighter is easier than I thought it would be. You can dispense some on the back of your hand and then apply with your fingers, a small stipple brush or a sponge (like a Beauty Blender). I’ve tried all 3 ways and I like applying it with my Beauty Blender the best. A little goes a long way too (you only need maybe half the size of a pea and it will do both sides of your face).

IMG_4770

This highlight gives off a beautiful glow that can also be topped with a pressed powder highlighter if you want. You can also mix a little of this product in with your foundation for an all-over luminous glow. Another way  you can apply it is before setting your foundation with powder, then apply a little more on top for a more intense effect.

Blended out. See how pretty that is?

Blended out. See how pretty that is?

I’m really loving this highlighter. It blends out nicely and lasts all day. It’s great for both daytime and going out at night. It’s also super affordable at just $7.50. I definitely recommend checking this highlighter out if you’re looking for a liquid one.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this highlighter? Do you like it? What other liquid highlighters do you think I should check out? Let me know below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope the rest of your Monday behaves (and if not, kick it where it counts!) and I’ll see you again Wednesday with a new post! 🙂

10 thoughts on “Review: NYX Born to Glow Liquid Illuminator Highlighter in Gleam

  1. I’m just getting started into being interested in make-up (I’ve always been a fashion person) as make up is something totally foreign to me and it’s nice to read recommendations about make up products.

    Btw does it feel natural on your face? That’s the one thing that kept me away from make up was the feeling of having peanut butter lathered all over your face >.> lol

    Like

  2. This looks/sounds really nice. I think I’d mix it in with foundation for an all over glow like you suggested. Actually, it reminds me of the Smashbox glow primer thing that was out only with less glitter and a better texture, so I’m really tempted to test this out! Great review, girl 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

