Review: Essence Gel Eyeliner & Rimmel ScandalEyes Gel Eyeliner

Hey guys! How’s your week going?

Today I’m going to review a couple of drugstore gel eyeliners for you. One is by Essence and the other is by Rimmel. You ready? Ok let’s get going!

IMG_4729

Confession: Until earlier this year, I absolutely SUCKED at lining my upper lash line… to the point where I usually just didn’t do it. But then I decided to start experimenting and began using matte black eyeshadow to line my upper lash line. It took awhile to get the hang of it, but with some practice, I started getting it down. I even tried experimenting with winging it out, and failed miserably 99.9999% of the time (the ONE time I managed to pull it off was a total fluke). Eventually I got comfortable enough using shadow that I decided to take it to the next level – gel eyeliner.

After doing some research, I picked up the gel liner by Essence as I had heard a lot of good things about it. Plus it was only like $3.99 at Ulta (yay for bargains!). It comes in a nice little glass pot, but didn’t come with a brush, but they had one by Essence that was just $1.99, so I got that too (I liked the hot pink bristles).

IMG_4731

Ok so this liner is pretty pigmented, so a little goes a long way. But it’s easy to control how much you get on the brush and isn’t too wet of a formula. It goes on smooth with hardly any tugging, which is great. Once this liner sets, it will not budge until you take it off. The only downside is sometimes this liner can dry up fast according to some reviews I’ve read. I luckily haven’t experienced that yet (and I hope I don’t).

And now ScandalEyes waterproof the gel liner by Rimmel. This is apparently a kind of new product (the packaging had a “NEW!” thing on it). I picked this up at CVS one day. Rimmel was on special that week buy one, get one 50% off, plus I had a coupon for $1 off any Rimmel eye product (it normally retails for around $5.49 to $5.99), so I figured I’d try it out. The packaging claimed it wears for up to 24 hours, so it’s claiming to be heavy duty.

IMG_4733

Like the Essence liner, this one is nice and pigmented too. It’s creamy but not an overly wet formula. A little goes a long way with this one too, but also like the Essence liner, it’s easy to control how much you get on the brush. It applies smooth and once it sets, it doesn’t budge. So it most likely lives up to its 24 hour claim (the longest I’ve worn makeup is maybe 18 hours). Oh yeah this liner comes in a plastic pot and it does come with a brush, but I don’t really like it, so I just use that Essence one I got instead (I like that brush quite a bit).

Essence on the left, Rimmel on the right

Essence on the left, Rimmel on the right

I really like both of these liners quite a bit and recommend both if you’re looking for an inexpensive gel liner to try out.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried either of these gel liners? What is your favorite eyeliner? Sound off below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope the rest of your day is a good one and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “Review: Essence Gel Eyeliner & Rimmel ScandalEyes Gel Eyeliner

  1. I’m happy I saw this post today because I was actually thinking about trying a gel eyeliner from essence!! I’ve actually never tried anything from them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The essence liner sounds great! I’m not any good with gel liners but I’m feeling inspired now πŸ˜‰ I’ll tell you what I CAN’T do no way no how: tightline my upper lash line! How they hell do people do that!!??

    Like

Leave a Comment

