Tressmatch Hair Extensions Elite Set – 10 Month Update

Hey there beauties! Happy Friday! Got anything fun planned this weekend?

Today’s post is going to be an update on my Tressmatch hair extensions. I’ve been wanting to do this post for awhile now but kept getting sidetracked. But now I’m finally getting around to it! So grab yourself a cold beverage and let’s get started!

Ok so I got my second set of clip-in hair extensions from Tressmatch back at the end of last September. I got their Elite 20″ set, which is their thickest set at around 150 grams of hair (which is perfect for me as I have baby fine hair). You can read my initial review of this set here.

Recent photo of me wearing my extensions.

I’ve had these extensions for 10 months now, so I thought I’d follow up and tell you guys how they’ve been holding up as share some tips on how to care for clip-in hair extensions.

So like I said, I’ve had these extensions for 10 months. I got the light brown shade had to color them to match my hair as NO ONE sells extensions in my shade. They color really nicely and I’ve only had to dye them that one time.

IMG_4648

These are the main wefts I use in the Elite set. it also comes with four1-clip wefts, but I hardly ever use them. You can see they’re still in really great shape after 10 months of regular use.

These extensions have held up amazingly well. I wear them several times a month (almost every weekend actually), so they’ve had a lot of styling done to them. But they look great and still blend into my natural hair perfectly. They’ve barely shed, as I’ve learned a little trick – NEVER brush your clip-in extensions. Go through them with a wide-tooth comb or hair pick instead. I learned this the hard way because I brushed the crap out of my original Artisan set and as a result, they’ve shed quite a bit (to the point where I hardly use that set anymore). Essentially all extensions will shed to some extent regardless how good the sewing work is because as I’ve mentioned in other posts, it’s dead hair your clipping into your head.

Use a hair pick like this or a wide-tooth comb to comb out your extensions to prevent shedding.

Use a hair pick like this or a wide-tooth comb to comb out your extensions to prevent shedding.

Another tip in caring for extensions is since this is dead hair, it doesn’t get the natural oils from your scalp, so applying a nourishing treatment to them once a week helps keep them looking nice and helps prevent them from drying out. I like using the Suave Natural Infusion Macadamia Moisturizing Light Oil Spray. I just spray some on the extensions (concentrating on the ends as they get the driest the fastest), work it through with a wide-tooth comb or hair pick and that’s pretty much it.

These extensions style really nicely and hold a curl really well. I always use heat protecting spray when I use my curling wand on them (I use the ISO Professional 5 in 1 curling wand, which you can read my review of here).

I have a little trick I learned for wearing clip-in extensions. If you have really baby fine hair (like me), sometimes teasing your hair where you’re going to clip in the wefts isn’t enough. Keep them securely in place with a few bobby pins! Just slip one in at the places where they’re more prone to come loose over time while wearing. This way you’re not playing “fix the clip” a bazillion times while wearing them.

One last care tip is to only wash your clip-in extensions when absolutely necessary, like when there’s too much product buildup. I’ve washed this set maybe 3 times since I got them. I use sulfate-free shampoo & conditioner (same as I use on my natural hair) and use cool/cold water (to keep the color from fading). Easiest way to wash them is to gather all the wefts together and secure with a hair elastic (so it looks like a ponytail) and wash them that way. Or you can wash each weft individually (it’s all personal preference). After washing, you just squeeze out the excess water, lightly spray with a detangling spray, comb out and lay the wefts out flat to dry on a clean, dry towel (never use a hair dryer on them as it could damage them).

When it comes to both quality and price, Tressmatch simply can’t be beat. I’ve been singing their praises for over a year now and I don’t plan on stopping any time soon. I’ve bought every set of extensions I own by them with my own money, and I’m definitely not being paid to say good things about them. If you’ve been reading my blog you know I’m always totally honest with my reviews. Even if I’m sent a product for free, if I don’t like it, I’ll be up front about it. That’s the way it should be. I say good things about Tressmatch because they’re a great company who have yet to do me wrong. They have a great product and great customer service (as I’ve mentioned before, Jane with the company is super nice and helpful). I actually just ordered my 3rd set of extensions from Tressmatch this week (another Elite set) so I can switch back and forth between my sets so they don’t get worn out as fast.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you ever tried Tressmatch’s extensions? If you have, what are your thoughts about them? WHo’s yoru favorite hair extension company? Sound off below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope you have a fantastic weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Tressmatch Hair Extensions Elite Set – 10 Month Update

Leave a Comment

