Bronzer Review: NYX Matte Bronzer & Presitge Cosmetics Sunflower Illuminating Bronzing Powder

Hey guys! How’s your week going?

Today I have a review of a couple of bronzers I’ve been using lately – the NYX Matte Bronzer and the Prestige Cosmetics Sunflower Illuminating Bronzing Powder.

NYX Matte bronzer on the left. Prestige Cosmetics Sunflower Illuminating Bronzing Powder on the right.

NYX Matte bronzer on the left. Prestige Cosmetics Sunflower Illuminating Bronzing Powder on the right.

Up until recently, the only bronzer I’ve owned is the Smashbox Bronze Lights bronzer in Suntan Matte, which I love. The one I have is kind of like a travel size (I got it in a set that came with some other travel & deluxe mini size Smashbox items). Sadly I’m hitting serious pan on that one and it doesn’t look like Smashbox makes that bronzer anymore (boo), so I’ve been on the hunt for an affordable alternative.

Let’s talk about the NYX Matte Bronzer first. I got this in the shade Medium (it also comes in a light shade and a deep shade). It’s a matte bronzer as stated. It’s a nice warm brown that’s not orangey (at least not on me) like some warmer bronzers can be. It’s also more pigmented than I was expecting, so using a light hand when applying is necessary, otherwise it can come off looking dirty/muddy.

IMG_4568

Next is the Prestige Cosmetics Sunflower Illuminating Bronzing Powder. I actually won this bronzer (and some other products) from Prestige Cosmetics through a giveaway on Instagram. I got the shade Sun-Kissed (they also have a deeper shade called Terra). This bronzer has a little bit of sparkle/shimmer in the pan, but it doesn’t translate to the face when applying. It looks more like a sheen/satin finish. The color again is a nice warm brown that’s not orangey. It’s also pigmented, so again using a light hand when applying is best. But it goes on and blends out really nicely. At first I thought the gold sunflower on the bronzer was a highlighter, but it was just a decorative overspray that wore off after a few uses.

IMG_4255

I like using both of these bronzers to warm up my face along with some contouring using my NYX HD blush in Taupe when I’m in the mood and have time to contour. I like using a big kabuki brush to apply these bronzers for a softer look (I personally don’t care for the harsh bronzer look some people like). Both bronzers can also do double duty as an eyeshadow.

NYX Matte Bronzer on the left. Prestige bronzer on the right.

NYX Matte Bronzer on the left. Prestige bronzer on the right.

The NYX HD Bronzer retails for $8.99 and the Prestige Cosmetics Sunflower Illuminating Bronzing Powder retails for $11.99. I definitely recommend checking either of them out if you’re looking for a decent affordable bronzer.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried either of these bronzers? Sound off below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! Have a good one and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

16 thoughts on “Bronzer Review: NYX Matte Bronzer & Presitge Cosmetics Sunflower Illuminating Bronzing Powder

  1. Pretty bronzers! I just love Prestige cosmetics – 10 years ago or so my local walgreen’s used to sell their line, but stopped and I have no idea why! Thankful they are available at Ulta!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

