Review: NYX Microbrow Pencil and Tame & Frame Brow Pomade

IMG_4288

Hi Beauties! Happy Friday!

I got a review for you today on a couple of brow products by NYX Cosmetics – the Microbrow pencil and the Tame & Frame tinted brow pomade. You ready? Let’s go!

Now I’m always looking for new brow products to try and step my brow game up. I’ve used pencils, powders… you name it. I’d been hearing a lot about these two products by NYX (and how they’re supposedly dupes for a couple popular high end products) and finally decided to pick them up recently when Ulta had NYX products on special buy one, get one 50% off.

First, let’s talk about the Microbrow pencil. Many have been saying this is a good dupe for the Anastasia Brow Wiz. Now, I’ve never tried the Brow Wiz, so I can’t compare the two. But I can give my thoughts on the Microbrow pencil itself. This pencil comes in 8 shades and retails for $10. I’ve been using it for a couple weeks now and I like it. I like the double end with a spoolie brush on one end and the retractable pencil on the other. I got the shade Chocolate, which ended up being a pretty good match for me. I like how the pencil part is more on the waxy/stiff side as it helps mimic the look of brow hair when being drawn on. This isn’t a waterproof product, but it does last a good amount of time. I’ll do my brows in the morning and they still look nice when I go to take my makeup off at the end of the day with usually no touch-up needed.

IMG_4289

Close up of the spoolie. Not the greatest but it serves it purpose.

Close up of the spoolie. Not the greatest but it serves it purpose.

Close up of the pencil. I love how thin it.

Close up of the pencil. I love how thin it.

Next is the Tame & Frame tinted brow pomade. Again, several have said this is a dupe for the Anastasia Dipbrow. I’ve never tried that one either, so again, I can’t compare the two. The Tame & Frame comes in 5 shades and retails for $7. Like the Microbrow pencil, I got this in the shade Chocolate, which again was a good match for me. This product claims to be smudge proof and waterproof. It helps fill in my brows quite nicely. A little goes a long way, so it’s best to use this sparingly and build up gradually if needed. I use an angled brow/liner brush I got in a travel kit by Sonia Kashuk several years ago to apply the pomade. Unfortunately it’s not smudge proof or waterproof as it claims. However, it does last a long time (again, lasts me all day for the most part).

As you see, it's been getting some use.

As you see, it’s been getting some use.

I’m really liking these two products to shape and fill in my brows. I get a nice, natural result when I use them (I personally don’t like big, bold, over-drawn brows on myself). When out in heat/humidity for a long period of time, they do fade a little, but it’s nothing a minor touch-up won’t fix. The Microbrow pencil is nice and slim, making it easy to take with you in your purse (even a small one). Overall, I’m very satisfied with the results I get. So I obviously do recommend checking both of these products out if you’re looking for new brow products to try but don’t want to break the bank.

Before - Sparse brows (I am a total victim of over-plucking)

Before – Sparse brows (I am a total victim of over-plucking)

After - Yay brows!

After – Yay brows!

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried either of these products? How do you like them? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope you have a wonderful weekend (and for my US readers, have a fun but safe Independence Day – careful of those fireworks!) and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Review: NYX Microbrow Pencil and Tame & Frame Brow Pomade

  1. Great review! I haven’t tried either of these particular products but I did recently get a brow pomade from Milani and I’m struggling a bit to get it to look natural. I’m also a victim of over plucking. I blame the 90’s 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t tried either but I didn’t realize they were B1G1 50% off so after your reviews I’m tempted to pop on over to Ulta! I’ve only ever used powders, but I am curious to see how the pomade would work for me. Great review, as always!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

