High End Primers for Oily/Combo Skin I’ve Tried Out Recently

Hey there beauties! How’s your week going?

For today’s post I’m going to give my impressions of some high end makeup primers I’ve tried out recently (all via samples from Sephora). I’ve been able to get several uses out of all of these, so this will be more of a mini review of each one instead of a first impressions. These are all primers suited for oily/combo skin.

Got your favorite beverage and bagel ready? Let’s get going!

First up is the Cover FX Mattifying Primer with Anti-Acne Treatment ($38 for 1 fl oz).

Cover FX Primer

 

From Sephora’s site:

What it is:
A lightweight, water-resistant gel-primer that helps keep skin matte while minimizing the appearance of fine lines and pores.

What it does:
This lightweight, mattifying gel-primer minimizes the appearance of fine lines and pores. It also facilitates blending and extends your foundation while preventing and healing acne blemishes, all the while providing an instant mattifying effect, leaving skin texture looking flawless. This clinically tested primer is vegan and free of parabens, fragrance, gluten, mineral oil, and talc.

This primer has a kind of strong, funky smell (almost like paint) at first, but it goes away once absorbed into the skin. It’s clear and definitely has a gel-like consistency. It’s actually a little goopy, but nothing major. A little goes a long way. It goes on smooth and it takes a few minutes for it to absorb into your skin. It’s not my favorite but it gets the job done and it does help keep you matte. I don’t know how well the acne treatment infused in this primer works as I don’t really get any major breakouts other than an occasional zit here and there.

Up next is the Tarte Clean Slate Poreless 12 Hr Perfecting Primer ($31 for 1 oz).

Tarte Clean Slate Primer

 

From Sephora:

What it is:
A skin-perfecting mattifying base and pore refiner.

What it does:
This primer not only helps keep your makeup in place for up to 12 hours of perfect wear time, but also refines the appearance of pores and diffuses fine lines and imperfections while delivering natural fruit- and plant-derived extracts to deliver anti-aging and skin-restorative benefits to your skin. It refines the appearance of pores and diffuses fine lines and masks imperfections. Just one application leaves skin looking instantly smoother, softer, and refined.

This primer I actually like quite a bit. It’s got a silicon-y feel to it, much like the original Smashbox Photofinish Primer, but slightly thicker. It does seem to help blur my pores/fine lines while also keeping me matte and creating a pretty good base for my foundation. I also like that is has anti-aging skin benefits infused.

And last is the Make Up For Ever Step 1 Skin Equalizer Mattifying Primer ($36 for 1 oz).

MUFE Step 1

From Sephora:

What it is:
A makeup primer that assists with balancing the skin’s texture and tone for smoother, more even, and longer-lasting makeup wear.

What it does:
Prep skin for your makeup routine with Step 1 Skin Equalizers, and address your skin concerns with this innovative makeup primer. Perfect for balancing skin and achieving an ideal makeup result, itโ€™s lightweight and creamy, leaving a more evenly-toned appearance, and increases foundation’s hold. This primer for all skintones leaves makeup looking fresh for hours while it hydrates, firms, and smooths the look of the skin.

The beauty blogging/vlogging world have been going totally ape for this primer… and for good reason. This one is probably my favorite of the three I’m talking about here today (figures it’s the most expensive of them all though… Ugh!). This stuff is the schizznit! If you have oily skin, this stuff is a godsend. It keeps you MATTE! I was blown away the first time I applied this primer. A little goes a long way and… I mean it INSTANTLY starts working! I loved this so much I’m going to at least get a travel size at Sephora very soon.

And there you have it! Have you tried out any of these primers? If so, which has been your favorite? Let me know below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope the rest of your day is a good one and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! ๐Ÿ™‚

12 thoughts on “High End Primers for Oily/Combo Skin I’ve Tried Out Recently

  1. I have owned all three of these (always searching for the best primer for my oily skin, lol) The cover fx one actually made me oilier! I didn’t think the Tarte one did much of anything but I love the Makeup Forever one!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have tried the Tarte & I like it. I want to try the Makeup Forever one. Currently, I am impressed by the Skindinavia primer spray & been using it when I don’t use the Estee Lauder matte perfecting primer. Awesome review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

