Review & Swatches: NYX Prismatic Shadows

Hey there my lovely beauties! How’s it going?

Today I got a review and swatches for you guys on a couple of the NYX Prismatic Shadows I picked up recently at Ulta (they have NYX products on special this month buy one, get one 50% off).

IMG_3944

NYX came out with these Prismatic Shadows this past spring and it’s been hard to track them down as they usually sell out at my Ulta as soon as they’re in stock. But I was finally able to get my hands on the 2 colors I had my eye on the most, Mermaid and Fireball.

First up is Mermaid. It is an absolutely beautiful light aqua shade with a duo-chrome finish. It kind of reminds me of a lighter/paler/pastel version of my ColourPop shadow in Partridge or Prestige Cosmetics shadow in Hocus Pocus. When using a lighter color base, you get a nice pretty pale result, which is great for a daytime look. When you use a black base, it really amps up the color! This shadow is so freaking gorgeous I can barely stand it. I actually wore it to work the day after I got it, if that says anything.

IMG_3945

Mermaid swatch - No primer or base

Mermaid swatch – No primer or base

Mermaid swatch using my NYX Jumbo Pencil in Black Bean as a base

Mermaid swatch using my NYX Jumbo Pencil in Black Bean as a base

And then there’s Fireball, which is an amazing metallic red shade. It kind of reminds me of Flamethrower by Makeup Geek based on photos I’ve seen of swatches. It’s just so pretty and such a great color for a bold eye. It reminds me a bit of the NYX single shadow Heat but a more metallic finish and at first it reminded me of Garnet from the Lorac Pro Palette, but when I swatched it, Garnet is much darker.

IMG_3948

Left to Right: Fireball, Heat (NYX Hot Singles Shadow) & Garnet (Lorac Pro Palette)

Left to Right: Fireball, Heat (NYX Hot Singles Shadow) & Garnet (Lorac Pro Palette)

Both of these shadows are soft and super pigmented, which is par for the course for all of the NYX single shadows I’ve purchased. They apply and blend really nicely too.

The NYX Prismatic shadows come in 12 shades and cost $6 each, so they’re definitely affordable and you get a really good quality product too. I definitely recommend checking these guys out if you can find them at your local Ulta (if not you can always order online or order directly from the NYX website).

Ok that should do it for today! Have you been able to check any of these shadows out? What colors are your favorite? Let me know below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope you all have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

13 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: NYX Prismatic Shadows

  1. I have Fireball too and love it. Golden Peach is my favorite and I also have the brown and the darker green and the pink-purple. So yeah, I pretty much want them all and hope Nyx comes out with more colors this fall. Great swatches!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

