First Impressions: Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation

Happy Hump Day, beauties! How is your week going?

Today I got a first impressions for you guys on the Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk foundation. You ready? Let’s go!

Armani Luminous Silk

This foundation has been on my radar for a long time, but finally got around to getting a sample of it at Nordstrom a few weeks ago.

Here’s a product description (via the Sephora website):

What it is:
A lightweight liquid foundation that achieves a radiant, silky finish.

What it does:
This award-winning foundation is formulated with micro-fil technology, producing a low-density product that pairs high-impact pigments with weightless texture. Inspired by the silk shantung worn by kings and emperors, this foundation glides seamlessly onto the skin leaving a finish thatโ€™s reminiscent of charmeuse silk.

I was matched with shade 5.0, but honestly was a little to light for me. The girl at Nordstrom matched to my face but I match my foundation to my body because my face is super pale compared to the rest of me and if I wear foundation that matches my face, I often get asked if I’m sick or something. If I were to get another sample I’d probably go up to 5.25 or 5.5 as one of those would probably be a better match for me.

Anyhow, the consistency of this foundation is more on the liquidy side. I heard this foundation gives light to medium coverage, but I found out that’s not the case. This foundation is actually on the medium to full coverage side, which was a nice surprise. It feels lightweight and it doesn’t dry too fast when you apply it so you got plenty of time to blend it out and make sure everything is covered. It also doesn’t look cakey. With the word “Luminous” in the name, I was expecting it to have a dewy finish (which I honestly don’t like since I have oily/combo skin). However, I found it dries to a more satin finish, which was another nice surprise. If you want it moreย matte, just use your favorite setting powder.

Lasting power was pretty decent. After about 5 or 6 hours I noticed a little shine poking through on my nose and chin, but a quick blot and powder took care of that. You can get a good 8-10 hours of wear out of this foundation before it starts to fade a bit, which is nice.

Now here’s the stickler… this foundation costs a whopping $62! This is the most expensive foundation I have ever tried. I liked it, but there is no way I can personally justify the price when there are so many less expensive and just as nice foundations out there. It does come in 23 shades though, so there’s some variety for various skin tones. But if you got the money and willing to splurge… go right ahead as this is a pretty decent foundation overall. You can get this foundation at Sephora and higher end department stores such as Nordstrom, Bloomingdales & Neiman Marcus as well as the Armani website.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this Armani foundation out? Did you like it? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! Have a good one and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! ๐Ÿ™‚

15 thoughts on “First Impressions: Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation

  1. I will always have on eye on this, especially having dry skin (I don’t love matte finishes on me) but the price kills me too!! I’ll definitely have to get a sample like you did. Thanks for the review!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I bought this last year when Sephora had their 20% off. The $62 is steep so I was glad for a little discount, haha. I loved this foundation-it felt like I was wearing nothing and the coverage was great. However, with continued use, this made my skin feel like it was slightly burning so sadly it had to go back. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It was a shame because I really loved it.

    Like

Leave a Comment

