Review & Swatches: Too Faced Sugar Pop Palette

Hey there beauties! Happy Hump Day!

Today I have a review and swatches for you guys of the new Sugar Pop eye shadow palette by Too Faced, so grab that Pop Tart and beverage of choice and let’s do this thingy!

IMG_2667

So not too long ago, I got a coupon in the mail from Ulta for 20% off my entire purchase, including high-end makeup! After a LOT of browsing on their website, I decided I wanted the new Too Faced Natural Matte palette as I didn’t have anything by Too Faced in my makeup collection (though I have tried some of their products via samples from Sephora). However, when I went to my local Ulta (which is about 2 miles from where I live), they didn’t have it in stock! I looked at some of the other Too Faced palettes (I was eyeing the original Chocolate Bar palette but even with 20% off it was still on the spendy side) and after a LOT of swatching and debating for nearly an hour, I decided to give the Sugar Pop palette a try as the colors looked really pretty and it looked to be a nice palette for a pop of color for spring and summer.

First off, let’s talk about the packaging. It is so cute! I love the little French macarons all over it. The packaging is the usual metal tin Too Faced palettes come in. It’s actually pretty sturdy and has a magnetic closure, so it would be pretty decent for travel.

IMG_2619

Inside are 9 candy colored inspired eye shadows. These shadows are all so pretty! There’s a mix of matte, shimmer and satin finishes. Too faced includes a little fold out that gives you guides for 3 different looks you can try to recreate, which is always nice to have if you’re not sure exactly where to put which colors. I love all the colors in this palette, but it was Blackberry that sold me on getting this palette. It’s such a gorgeous matte plum/burgundy-ish shade that works great in the crease, on the lid or along the lower lash line. You can pack it on for an intense look or sheer it out for something softer.

IMG_2620

All of the shadows in in this palette are soft and pigmented. They apply and blend so nicely. The more shimmery shades have a tiny bit of fallout, but I always do my eye makeup first before foundation, so that is never an issue with me.

So let’s get to those swatches! These were all taken with no primer or base underneath.

Left to Roght: Rock Candy, Macaron, Malted Milk Ball

Top Row, Left to Right: Rock Candy, Macaron, Malted Milk Ball

Second Row, Left to RIght: Strawberry Ice, Sugared Violet, Blackberry

Middle Row, Left to RIght: Strawberry Ice, Sugared Violet, Blackberry

Bottom Row, Left to Right: Peach Fuzz, Bubblegum, Blue Raspberry

Bottom Row, Left to Right: Peach Fuzz, Bubblegum, Blue Raspberry

And here’s a look I created using this palette. Please excuse my old, wrinkly eyelids and kind of crappy iPhone photo (taking close up photos of my eyes is hard!). For this look I used Blackberry in the crease, Macaron a little above it, Sugared Violet all over the lid over a black shadow base to give it more pop (I used my Rimmel Scandaleyes liner in black as the base), Rock Candy to highlight my brow bone and inner corner. Along the lower lash line I used Blackberry and then topped it with Blue Raspberry. This look is obviously best for nighttime as it’s a little too dramatic for day. But I love how it came out! This was also my first attempt at doing winged liner and am really happy with how that came out as well (I used the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner – let me know if you’d like to see a review of this).

IMG_2713

 

Here’s another look created from this palette. I again used Blackberry in the crease, Macaron above it and Rock Candy to highlight my brow bone, but this time I used Malted Milk Ball all over the lid. On the lower lash line though I used a mix of Bengal & Chocolate from my Anastasia Beverly Hills Tamanna palette and Beige from my Lorac Pro Palette 2 to highlight the inner corner of my eye. No winged liner this time because I tried and failed after 3 times and eventually gave up.

IMG_2730

I’ve been having a lot of fun playing with this palette and can’t wait to try out more looks with it.

The Too Faced Sugar Pop palette retails for $36 and is part of their Summer 2015 collection. I think this is a limited edition palette, so if you’re thinking about picking it up, it’ll probably be gone within a few months or so, so don’t put it off for too long!

Alrighty that should do it for today! Have you tried this palette? Is it on your wishlist? Let me know below in the comments.

As always thank you all so much for reading! I hope the rest of your day is good to you (and if not, punch that sucker out!) and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

24 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: Too Faced Sugar Pop Palette

  1. I have the Natural Matte Palette and I’m really disappointed in it. I love the folors and they’re really pigmented but the fallout is insane which makes the shadows hard to work with.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a pretty palette but I’m still on the fence about buying it. The colors are a bit bold for me I usually lean toward more neutrals. I like that you showed what kind of looks you can do with it. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

