First Impressions: Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-In-Place Makeup

Happy Hump Day, beauties! How’s your week going?

Today I have a first impressions for you guys on the Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-In-Place Makeup. You got that large beverage and muffin of choice ready? Let’s get going!

Estee Lauder Double Wear

I’m sure you’ve heard of this foundation. It’s the holy grail of a lot of people. I’ve heard so many good things about this foundation and finally decided to give it a try myself. I got a sample of it from the Estee Lauder counter at my local Macy’s. The girl that helped me out was really nice, but sadly I can’t remember her name.

Here’s some product claims from the Estee Lauder website:

15-hour staying power. Flawless all day. This worry-free, long-wearing makeup stays fresh and looks natural through heat, humidity, nonstop activity.

Won’t change color, smudge or come off on clothes. Feels lightweight and comfortable.

Now the flawless look you see in the morning is the look you keep all day.

I was matched with the shade 3C1 Dusk, which is a medium beige with cool undertones. My skintone actually has more or less neutral undertone (I’m a NW20/NW22 by MAC when I’m not tan and NW25 when I am tan), so this shade was actually a good match. I was initially matched with shade 2C1 Pure Beige, which is a light to medium beige with cool undertone, which was a perfect match to my face. However, my face is super pale compared to the rest of my body and if I wear a foundation that matches my face exactly, it looks really weird and people always ask me if I’m sick or something because my face is so pale in comparison to the rest of me. So I always go just a little bit darker so I look healthy and not like walking death. So the girl at the Estee Lauder counter tried out Dusk on me and we both agreed it looked a lot better than Pure Beige.

This foundation applies really nicely and dries to a natural, semi-matte finish, which I ended up liking quite well. It doesn’t dry too fast, so you can take a little time buffing it out to your liking. It has medium coverage that’s buildable to full coverage without looking cakey. It actually feels pretty lightweight, which is surprising for a foundation that has such good coverage. It covered up all my problem areas really well. I used both my NYX HD finishing powder and Maybelline Fit Me Matte & Poreless finishing powder to set it, and both powders worked with it quite well. I was able to get a few uses out of the sample I got, which helped me test it out in different scenarios. This foundation stayed on all day outdoors in heat/humidity as well as normal everyday wear, so that’s definitely impressive. Living in Florida, where it’s humid at least 80% of the year, I need a foundation that will last no matter what the weather is doing any particular day. I’ve gotten 12+ hours wear out of this foundation each time I’ve worn it, so it definitely lives up to its long-wearing claim. This foundation claims to be good for all skin types. It worked real well with my combo skin, so I can at least say it’ll work good if you have an oily T-zone and are normal elsewhere (like me). As for the claim that it’s smudge-proof and won’t come off on clothes… well, if you happen to accidentally lightly hit the sleeve or collar of your top or whatever on your face, then it won’t transfer. But if you rub it on your face, then it definitely will transfer onto your clothes. So it’s somewhat transfer resistant, but not totally transfer proof.

The Estee Launder Double Wear Stay-In-Place Makeup comes in 32 shades and costs $37.00 for 1 fl. oz. of product. So it’s a little on the spendy side, but not too crazy like some high-end foundations can be (I’m looking at you YSL Fusion Ink foundation, which costs $60 and Nars All Day Luminous foundation which costs $48. I love you both but… geez!). You can purchase this foundation as Sephora as well as the Estee Lauder counter at department stores like Macy’s & Dillard’s.

I would definitely recommend checking this foundation out if you want medium to full coverage with a natural finish that lasts all day. I’ll probably get a bottle of this for myself at one point (right now I have a bunch of other foundations to get through first before I buy any new).

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this foundation out? What did you think of it? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! Have a good one and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

12 thoughts on “First Impressions: Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-In-Place Makeup

  1. It sounds lovely, but I hate how expensive foundation is! I don’t wear a full coverage foundation every day (more just for special occasions) so I never want to spend so much on a bottle.

    Like

  2. I’ve tried a sample of this before and it kind of accentuated my dry patches. It does feel very nice though and I think would work great for oily/combo skin if you don’t have a lot of dryness. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment

