Review & Swatches: ColourPop Super Shock Shadows

Hi there, beauties! How was your weekend? Do anything fun or exciting?

Well, you voted and with 60% of the vote, the winner of what to see a full review and swatches on first is….

The ColourPop Super Shock Shadows!

IMG_2197

As you know I also got 3 of their Lippie Stix and I’ll have a full review and swatches of those later this week, so stay tuned for that!

So I got 8 of the Super Shock Shadows in my recent haul from ColourPop. It was so hard to choose because they all looked so gorgeous. The ones I ended up with are: Hustle, Shop, Partridge, La La, Animal, So Quiche, Cheeky and Girl Crush.

The texture of these shadows is so different from anything I’ve ever experienced before. When you touch them, they have a kind of cream to powder feel to them and if you press down on them, they have a bit of bounce to them. They feel nothing like cream shadows I have in my collection (the L’Oreal Infallible & Maybelline Color Tattoo), so they’re an interesting little thing. ColourPop says after you’re done using the shadows to close them up tightly as otherwise they’ll lose some of the “magic” of what makes them so unique and dry out (so they can’t be de-potted).

I’ll get into how they apply and wear in just a bit. First I want to break it down color by color.

First up is Hustle, which is described as a burgundy violet with a matte finish. This color is so pretty on the lid or along the lower lash line (or both!).

Hustle

Next is Girl Crush, which described as a mid-tone true grey with a matte finish. This color is great in the crease as a transition shade (or to give it the crease more definition) or even on the lid or along the lower lash line.

Girl crush

And next is probably my favorite of the bunch, Partridge. This one is described as saddle brown undertone with a green duo chrome finish in a pearlized finish. This one is very similar to my Prestige Cosmetics Total Intensity shadow in Hocus Pocus (which I did a review and swatch on here), however, Partridge has more of a green-blue tone, whereas Hocus Pocus is a blue-green tone (if that makes any sense). This shadow is so gorgeous though. First time I wore it out, I got a ton of compliments on my eyes.

Partridge

Next is La La, which is described as a true rose gold with a metallic finish. If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you’ll know I have been totally OBSESSED with rose gold shadows since last fall. Add this one to another I totally love. It is so beautiful. I’m actually wearing as I write this post (I also went to Ulta earlier in the day for an event IT Cosmetics was doing and the MUA I was talking to asked what I was wearing on my eyes because she thought it was beautiful).

La La

Next up is Animal, which is described as an electric bright neon coral with a subtle flash of gold. This is such a fun shade that screams spring/summer. Perfect for a nice, playful pop of color.

Animal

And next is Cheeky, which is described as mid-toned candy coral pink with duo-chrome satin finish. This is another one for a fun pop of color. Such a beautiful shade.

Cheeky

Next is Shop, which is described as a rusty coral with a matte finish. Can you tell I’m digging the coral shades this spring? Shop is one of ColourPop’s new spring shades and it’s gorgeous. It’s great on its own on the lid and sometimes I like pairing it with Cheeky in the middle of my lid.

Shop

And last is So Quiche, which is described as a soft olive with a highly reflective gold and pink violet glittery duo chrome metallic finish. I can’t describe this shadow as anything else but just f**king amazing.

So Quiche

So how do these shadows apply and wear? ColourPop says for the best color payoff to apply these shadows with your finger and tap them on. And if you want to blend them out like a pro to use a fluffy synthetic brush, dip into the shadow and then buff it out using the “windshield wiper” back and forth motion. I found using a flat synthetic brush works good applying the color to my lid. Ironically, I found a concealer brush in an old brush set by Sonia Kashuk I’ve had for several years that works really well packing the shadows on my lid. Wear time is… they last ALL DAY LONG. Once the shadows set, they do not budge until you take them off. I’ve even rubbed my eyes by accident while wearing these shadows and nothing came off on my hand. That is staying power!

So how about some swatches, huh?

IMG_2223

Left to Right: La La, Partridge, Animal, Hustle, Shop, So Quiche, Girl Crush & Cheeky (photo taken in direct sunlight)

IMG_2238

Left to Right: La La, Partridge, Animal, Hustle, Shop, So Quiche, Girl Crush & Cheeky (photo taken indoors)

The ColourPop Super Shock Shadows costs just $5 each on the ColourPop website. They currently ship to the USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Puerto Rico, Guam, US Virgin Islands, and APO’s (and more on the way in the future). All their products are also cruelty-free, which is a definite bonus.

Definitely check ColourPop out if you haven’t already. I’ve become a total fangirl and can’t wait to get some more goodies from them in the (near) future.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried anything from ColourPop yet? What do you think? Let me know below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope the rest of your Monday is good to you (and if not, kick that sucker where it counts!) and I’ll see you again Wednesday with a new post! 🙂

 

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: ColourPop Super Shock Shadows

  1. I have Hustle on the lists of wants. Have you worn it out yet? I’m curious how dark or light it looks on the lids. I’m seriously dying to get my hands on ColourPop I don’t know why I won’t commit yet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

