First Impressions: Nars All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation

Friday! Yay! How’s it going, beauties?

FridayFunny

Been awhile since I’ve done a high end foundation first impressions for you guys, so today I got one for you on the new Nars All Day Luminous Weightless foundation. You ready to rock? Let’s do this!

So as you probably know (or may not know), Nars came out with this All Day Luminous Weightless foundation not too long ago. I’ve seen several YouTubers talking about it, so I decided to get a sample at Sephora to try out for myself as I ended up liking their Sheer Matte foundation more than I was expecting to (you can read my first impressions of the Sheer Matte foundation here).

Nars All Day Luminous Foundation

This foundation retails for $48 (yikes!) and comes in 20 different shades.

Claims per the Sephora website:

What it is:
An oil-free foundation that delivers full, natural-looking coverage with one drop, for lightweight, 16-hour wear.

What it does:
Achieve full-coverage, lightweight foundation that leaves a natural finish. Highly pigmented and perfectly balanced, this breakthrough, full-coverage formula builds and blends effortlessly. Its Even Tone Technology instantly neutralizes redness and dullness, while it works to reduce discoloration for more even, uniform skin. Perfect for all skin types, it features Weightless Long-wear Technology, an exclusive blend from NARS with flexible polymers and treated pigments that move with the skin while providing 16 hours of staying power.

I got the shade Santa Fe to try (medium with peachy undertones) as that’s the shade I used in the Sheer Matte foundation, which ended up being a pretty good match. The foundation itself is very liquidy/runny. However, when you apply it, it is VERY lightweight (just like the name implies). It felt like almost nothing going on. At first the foundation looked a little too yellow for me (odd since it’s supposed to have peachy undertone), but once it set/dried, it looked a lot better. Despite this foundation having the word “Luminous” in its name, it actually dries to a demi-matte finish, which I really liked due to my combo skin. When I set it with my NYX HD finishing powder, it looked even better. It says it’s suitable for all skin types, but I’ve heard those with dry skin, it does cling to and accentuates dry patches, so if you do have dry skin and want to use this foundation, you’d want to moisturize really well before using.

So this foundation claims to wear for up to 16 hours. I had it on for about 10-12 hours and it held up really well. I had to do a light touchup on my chin and nose (the oiliest parts of my face), after around 8 hours, but that was it. So it’s definitely a long-wearing foundation as it claims to be. It always felt super lightweight and never looked cakey. The claim of just one drop providing full coverage though is definitely more than a little far-fetched, but a little does go a long way with this foundation, so you don’t need a lot. But you do need more than just “one drop”.

I ended up liking this foundation quite a bit. Unfortunately, the price tag of $48 is keeping me from purchasing a full size bottle at the moment. The only other thing I didn’t like about this foundation is how runny/liquidy it is, but that’s something you can always deal with if you like the results the product gives.

If you want to splurge, definitely check this one by Nars out. For now, it’ll just be on my wishlist.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this foundation out? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading, You guys are the best! I hope you have a great weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

24 thoughts on “First Impressions: Nars All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation

  1. I really want too try this foundation, but like you the price tag puts me off. I think it’s about £30 over here in the UK – which is considerably more than I’d usually spend on a foundation. I think I might cave soon and get it though, as foundations tend to last me quite a while and I hear so many amazing things about this product I just need too try it! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You know I am looking to splurge on a good foundation next month 🙂 I also have combination skin, but my oily the zone is… very oily. And I stay away from anything that isn’t matte finish because of this 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • You and me both! I love my matte finish foundations because my nose and chin especially can be an oil slick. Yuck. That’s why I like my MAC Pro Longwear foundation and if this sucker by Nars wasn’t so damn expensive it would be in my collection yesterday.

      Like

      • I feel yucky even in the middle of the day, I usually start shining after two hours max, and that’s with fixing powder. Is Mac Pro Longwear your holy grail at the moment? Xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • One of my holy grails. The other for high end is the original Bare Minerals. For drugstore I love the Rimmel Lasting Finish and Revlon ColorStay (the latter has formulas for oily/combo skin and normal/dry skin). The Maybelline Fit Me Matte & Poreless is good too (esp when used with the coordinating finishing powder to set it).

        Like

      • The Fit me didn’t work for me at all sadly, that powder couldn’t handle it I guess. Of those I’d try the Bare Minerals or the MAC because Revlon is pretty expensive here, like I can buy a MAC easily with that money.

        Like

  3. Good review! I got a sample of this too and it was pretty thin/watery. A little goes a pretty long way too-they weren’t kidding with the a drop will do or something around those lines. Not sure if I would purchase this, but I do like it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment

