Review, Tips & Tricks: Kiss Full-Cover Artificial Nails

Hey there, beauties! I hate to break it to you but… it’s Monday again.

Monday Lego

So how was your weekend? Hope you did something fun!

Today I have a review for you on the Kiss full-cover artificial nails, plus some tips and tricks regarding them. This is going to be a long post, so… get that large beverage of choice and a tasty treat in hand and let’s do this thingy!

Back in the 90s, I had acrylic nails. I absolutely loved them because I could never grow my nails out on my own. They’re just brittle and would eventually break at some point. But… those acrylics just destroyed my natural nails underneath. Plus going for fill-ins every couple weeks can get expensive at $15-$20 a pop. I finally said goodbye to them in 2000 or 2001, as much as it pained me.

Now, I totally suck at painting my own nails, but I love having pretty painted nails, so every once in awhile I’d go to the nail salon near where I live and get just a plain old $10 manicure. But…. by the 3rd day afterward, the polish would start to chip and I’d do touch-ups on my own (I’d always bring my own polish from home to the nail salon just for this very reason), but it never looked as good as the day I got the manicure, you know? Polish just doesn’t want to stay on my natural nails (no matter what prep, base coat, top coat and all that I’d use). Very depressing.

So fast-forward to 2015. While at the drugstore looking for new beauty goodies to try, I noticed these full-cover artificial nails by Kiss. Now if you were around in the 80s, you might remember Lee Press-On Nails. And if you weren’t around back then (you young whipper-snappers!), here’s a classic commercial:

I remember using the Lee Press-On Nails back in the day (my mom used them too) and they were just ridiculous. The sticker tabs were a total pain to put on your nails and the adhesive really wasn’t as strong as the commercial made it out to be (big surprise, huh?).

Thankfully, artificial nails have a come a long way in the last 30 years. I decided to get a kit of 100 full cover plain nails, which gives you up to 5 manicures according to the packaging. I got the Short length (because those ridiculously long length ones are, well… ridiculous! How the heck can you do anything with claws like that?), but even those were a bit too long for me…. ugh!

Photo: Kiss USA

Photo: Kiss USA

So here’s tip/trick #1: If your artificial nails are too long, you can trim them down to your perfect length with basic nail clippers and shape them with a nail file.

Now like I mentioned before, I SUCK at painting my own nails. I always get polish all over my cuticles and skin and it’s just not pretty. I’ve tried dipping a little brush in nail polish remover to clean up mistakes and I end up making a bigger mess. But one trick I did learn is putting a thin coat of Vaseline around the edges of my nails prior to painting and if I make any boo-boos, once the polish is dry, I can just wipe them away along with the Vaseline. But with these artificial nails, I wanted them to look absolutely perfect, as if I had just come from the nail salon.

So here’s tip/trick #2: You can paint your artificial nails prior to applying them! What? How? It’s easier than you think!

All you need are: Your artificial nails, some tape and some Q-tips/cotton swabs (and of course your favorite nail polish and top coat)!

IMG_2046

Step 1: Trim/file your artificial nail to the length you desire.

Step 2: Take a small piece of tape and double it up by folding it over onto itself, sticky side up.

Step 3: Place the folded piece of tape to the underside of the artificial nail.

IMG_2047

Step 4: Attach the nail to the end of the Q-Tip/cotton swab.

IMG_2048

Now you can paint those nails perfectly without worry of getting polish all over yourself and making a mess. You’ll have a picture perfect manicure just as if you had gone to the nail salon!

IMG_2049

And here’s how the nails look after painting:

IMG_2051

Ta-Da! The polish I used here is Animal-istic by OPI. It was part of their Muppets collection that came out in late 2011. I love this color as it’s really pretty and it looks just like Animal (who also happens to be my favorite Muppet).

And here’s how a full set looks after application:

IMG_1943

Ok so these are obviously another set. I used Wet N Wild’s Wild Shine polish in Black Creme and for the accent nail topper I used the LA Colors Color Craze polish in Cocktail.

So how are these nails? I like them! They’re pretty sturdy and nail polish stays on them really nicely! I’ve had the above nails on now for over a week and the polish has not chipped at all! I just reapply top coat every few days (as it wears off after that) to keep them nice and shiny.

Another tip when using artificial nails is the glue. You always want a good quality nail glue to keep those nails in place. The glue that comes with the kit is ok, but I went to Sally Beauty and purchased a bottle of the IBD 5 Second Brush-On Nail Glue (this glue retails for $3.99 but if you have a Sally’s card it’s $3.49). Brush-on glue is SO much easier to work with as you have more control over how much glue you apply to your nails, which means less chance of gluing your fingers together by accident.

IMG_2056

Now you’ve had your artificial nails on for awhile and you notice they’re starting to come loose. If the polish on the nails themselves still look good and you want to re-use the nails again sometime… well, you can!

So here’s tip/trick #3: You can safely remove artificial nails without damaging them or your natural nails and save the artificial nails for future re-use.

Here’s what you’ll need: Non-waxed dental floss (preferably the flat, satin-type kind). That’s right… dental floss.

IMG_2052

All you have to do it wedge the dental floss in between the artificial nail and your natural nail (starting where the glue is beginning to come loose, usually toward the base of the nail by the cuticle).

IMG_2054

You then gently tug/saw the dental floss back and forth, dragging it gently and carefully down, separating the fake nail from the real one. When you reach the other end of the nail, the artificial one will pop off easily.

So there you have it! If you’re looking for some artificial nails to try out, these ones from Kiss are good value for the money. A kit of 100 nails (good for up to 5 manicures) retails for between $6.49 and $7.99 depending on where you purchase it. And be on the lookout for store sales and coupons too.

Ok that should do it for today! Told you this was going to be a long post!

Have you tried these artificial nails by Kiss or any other brand of nails? Tell me about them below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope the rest of your Monday is good to you and I’ll see you again Wednesday with a new post! 🙂

18 thoughts on “Review, Tips & Tricks: Kiss Full-Cover Artificial Nails

  1. Thank you for sharing this post! I really would like to try this sometime having short nails myself and I am so bad at painting my own nails! I will have to try that nail glue too. 🙂 xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great tip for getting off the nails! I’ve never heard of that before. I’m going to do that from now on. I usually just pry them off with my teeth, I know awful, right? Wonderful post, so helpful!

    Like

    • I took mine off last night but I got one small piece of fake nail that refuses to come off without me hiring myself as its right at the tip of my finger. I’ve tried soaking it off with warm water & with acetone with no luck. The natural nail underneath is ripped off too far to remove this one little piece so I got a band aid around it until my nail grows out enough so I can just clip it off with clippers. Ugh! This has never happened before. Fluke thing. Luckily my nails grow fast.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Okay I see what you mean, I have a ? should I be making my pictures bigger? I always feel like I don’t want them that big, but not sure what the reader wants, etc. And, I love how we all choose the same theme 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! That theme seems to be a popular one, huh? I like it because it’s simple but pleasant looking.

      As for the photos, keep them mid-sized as too big can be annoying. I upload mine full resolution then use the WordPress editor to resize them once placed in a post. For horizontal ones I have them no more than 400 pixels wide & vertical I have them no more than 325 pixels wide. And if someone wants to see full resolution they can just click on the photo. Hope that helps.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It does look like press-on nails have come a loooong way! I remember those press-on ones ages ago. They’d flick off the same day! 😛
    Great tips! (haha pun intended)

    Like

  5. Im a nail technician but really hate using acrylic so do prefer gel polish on natural nails. For a change i decided to purchase some Full Cover Nails Oval Shape which are Nailene. So pleased with the results!! Somebody has already commented and think they are blended tips. Checkout my Fb page to take a peek. Nk Nails.

    Like

Leave a Comment

