Review & Swatches: NYX HD Blushes

Happy Wednesday! How’s your week going?

Today I got a review and swatches of some of the new NYX Cosmetics HD Blushes for you guys. Got that iced coffee and cronut in hand? Let’s get to it!

So as part of the NYX Spring 2015 collection, they released a line of powder HD blushes in 24(!!) shades. Here’s a product description from the NYX website:

A high definition, lightweight blush that blends evenly. This vibrant and silky blush delivers a beautiful flush of color and is paraben free.

• What it is: High definition blush that leaves a beautiful flush of color.

• What it does: This smooth powder goes on weightlessly and blends easily.

• Why we love it: Blends perfectly onto skin for a natural finish.

• How to use: Take a powder or blush brush, tap into product and dust it onto cheeks.

These blushes have been really tricky to find in stock at Ulta as they’ve been quite popular since they came out. I was finally able to track down the 2 colors I wanted the most  – Amber & Taupe.

IMG_1978

Amber on the left; Taupe on the right

Amber is described on the NYX site as a “deep rose”, but whoever came up with that description must be color blind or something. It’s not rosy at all. It’s actually more of a deep matte peach. The texture is very soft and it feels like a high end blush. Pigmentation is really nice, however, when I swatch it on my hand, it doesn’t look that pigmented. But when I apply to my cheeks with a brush… holy pigmentation, Batman! I have to use a light hand when dipping my brush into the product otherwise too much can get on my brush and then…. hello demented clown! But when applied just right, this blush is absolutely gorgeous.

Amber

Amber

Amber swatch. As you can see, for some reason it doesn't swatch all that great on the hand. But don't let that fool you!

Amber swatch. As you can see, for some reason it doesn’t swatch all that great on the hand. But don’t let that fool you!

Taupe is just that… a matte taupe. I actually got this one to use for contouring because it’s the perfect cool-toned taupey brown that creates a nice shadow (which is what contouring is supposed to do). This one was REALLY hard to find in-store. My local Ulta never had it in stock, so I actually had my dad (who lives around 70 miles from me) check the Ulta by him and they didn’t have it either. I finally found it at the Ulta that’s about 25-30 miles from me – and it was the last one in stock too! Like Amber, the texture of the blush is soft and smooth. Again, swatched on my hand, for some reason, it doesn’t show up a whole lot. But when applied on my face… OMG this is really the perfect contouring shade for me! I just need to apply a little using my Elf Studio Concealer Brush (perfect for contouring for me), then I use my Real Techniques Buffing Brush to buff it out. When paired with my Smashbox bronzer in Suntan Matte it’s an absolutely perfect combo. No need for me to plunk down $40+ for a contouring kit now!

Taupe

Taupe

Taupe swatch. This shows up a little better than Amber. Again, don't let the swatch fool you!

Taupe swatch. This shows up a little better than Amber. Again, don’t let the swatch fool you!

Definitely check out these HD blushes from NYX if you get the chance. They’re really gorgeous and you get a lot of product (0.16oz/4.5g) for the price ($6.49 at Ulta). I’m now on a blush no-buy for awhile (I’ve purchased too many blushes lately), but when I finally take myself off it, I definitely plan on getting more of these suckers.

Alrighty that should so it for today! Have you tried these new blushes from NYX yet? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! This blog is closing in on 700 followers, which is really freaking amazing and awesome. So thank you all for your support and all that jazz.

jazz hands kitten

I hope the rest of your day is fantabulous and I’ll see you all again Friday with a new post! 🙂

18 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: NYX HD Blushes

  1. That blush looks heavenly! I hope to be able to get to try it soon. Such a great review! Thanks for sharing!! I love NYX products. 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Comment

