Review & Swatch: Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm in Sultry

Happy Hump Day! Am I the only one who still thinks of that Geico commercial with the camel every Wednesday?

Hump Day

Today I have a quick review and swatch for you guys of the Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm in the shade Sultry. So grab that beverage of choice and a muffin and let’s get going!

I’ve tried a couple of the Revlon Colorburst Balm Stains and really liked them, so I decided to give the Matte Balms a try as matte lips are still a very popular thing right now. I picked up shade 225 Sultry, a deep rose color, which is a little outside my usual lip color comfort zone (something I’m working on… being more adventurous with my lip color).

IMG_1932

The Matte Balms are the same as the Balm Stains – they’re a retractable chubby crayon, so no sharpening is needed. They also have that light minty smell the Balm Stains have, which I actually like even though I’m not a big mint fan in general. The formula is creamy and super pigmented. It’s opaque across the lips in just one swipe, which totally surprised me. Even though it’s a matte finish, it doesn’t feel drying on the lips (probably due to the “balm” aspect of it). However, if you have dry lips, it will accentuate any dry patches you may have, so it’s best to exfoliate your lips or even wear a light swipe of a clear lip balm underneath to keep that at bay.

See how pigmented this is? I only swiped it across my hand twice for this swatch.

See how pigmented this is? I only swiped it across my hand twice for this swatch.

Even though the color is darker than I’m used to wearing, it’s really pretty and I’ve come to like it a lot. I wore it on Valentine’s Day and one of the first things my boyfriend said when he saw me was, “Wow that’s some dark lipstick you’re wearing!” But he liked it.

I definitely like these Matte Balms and plan on getting at least a couple more shades. So if you want a little bit different kind of matte lip product to try, give these a go sometime.

The Revlon Matte Balms come in 10 different shades and retail for between $6.84 to $9.49 depending on where you purchase it. But always keep an eye out for coupons in the Sunday paper for a little extra savings.

Ok that should do it for today. Have you tried these Matte Balms? Do you like them? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading. I hope you enjoy the rest of your day and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Review & Swatch: Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm in Sultry

Leave a Comment

