Review & Swatch: Elf HD Blush in Superstar

Hello gorgeous gals! How was your weekend?

Today I have a review and swatch for you guys of the Elf HD Blush in Superstar, so let’s get right to it!

I’ve seen these HD blushes by Elf for awhile now but wasn’t too sure about them as I usually don’t use cream blushes. But I finally decided to bite the bullet and give it a go. Target had the shade Superstar on clearance last month (though you can still get it on the Elf website – I think Target just loves to put things on clearance for the sake of it). The color looked interesting, so I got it.

IMG_1910

Superstar is a peachy-coral shade, which is right up my alley. The dispenser is a little pump, which is nice as you can control how much is dispensed. It’s actually nice and smooth and creamy to the touch. Oh and it has a matte finish. When you first pump some out though…. HOLY CRAP! This stuff is PIGMENTED! It’s actually a little scary looking at first. I was thinking, “There is NO WAY this is going to look anywhere near natural on me!”

IMG_1911

How Superstar looks when first pumped out and slightly spread out on the back of my hand. See? PIGMENTED!

How Superstar looks when first pumped out and slightly spread out on the back of my hand. See? PIGMENTED!

But see… I learned a little trick applying this sucker. YouTuber Emily of Beauty Broadcast did a review on these blushes and I used her way of applying. You pump out a tiny bit on the back of your hand as a little goes a looooong way (you don’t even need half a pump) and rub/spread it out a little. Then you take a small stippling brush (she uses the Elf version and I do the same – great brush!), dab it into the product and then lightly stipple where you normally apply your blush. You can use your fingers too, but I like the brush method myself (it all comes down to personal preference). With this blush it’s best to build it up little by little until you get your desired look, as otherwise you could come off looking like Ronald McDonald’s demented sister.

Superstar sheered out. MUCH better looking (though it looks like I have a huge rash on my hand now. LOL!)

Superstar sheered out. MUCH better looking (though it looks like I have a huge rash on my hand now. LOL!)

When applied and blended out, this blush gives a really nice healthy glow to the cheeks. Staying power is pretty impressive too as I’ve put this on in the morning and at night when I go to take my makeup off before bed, I can still see it on my cheeks.

So yeah, I ended up coming to like this blush a lot. These HD blushes by Elf comes in I think 5 different shades and retails for a mere $3, which is really a bargain for a product of this quality. If you like cream blushes and are looking for something new to try, give these a whirl sometime. Just remember to use a very light hand when applying.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried these blushes before? What did you think? Let me know your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! Have a good one and I’ll see you again Wednesday with a new post! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Review & Swatch: Elf HD Blush in Superstar

  1. Great post! Since you’re a fellow Glammie….
    stop by my blog…. I’m promoting a giveaway for an Evian Brumisateur mineral facial mist spray! Not only does it tone and hydrate your skin, it’s also refreshes your makeup! 🙂 hope you hop on over! Xx

    Like

Leave a Comment

