My Morning Skin Care Routine

Happy Friday, beauties!  Got anything fun planned this weekend?

Today’s post is going to be a little different. If you’ve been reading my blog, you’ll know I’m the big 4-0 even though I know I look younger. Some of you guys have asked me to share my daily skin care routine, so that’s just what I’m going to do! This post is going to focus on my morning routine. I’ll do my night routine in a future post.

First up is obviously in the shower when I wash my face. I don’t use any fancy face washes. I just use a Dove or Olay beauty bar (which I use depends on what I have available at the time – meaning whichever I can get the best deal on at the time).

A couple times a week after my shower, I’ll use my Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque. I love this sucker so much. It totally lives up to the hype it’s gotten over the years. My skin feels so soft when I rinse it off and it does tighten up my pores. And it also helps dry up any zits that try to come out and party. I’ll even use this as a spot treatment sometimes as it’ll help dry up a zit almost overnight it seems. Yeah it’s that good.

IMG_0331

My next step is toner to get any leftover oil, dirt and whatever makeup is left over (even though I take my makeup off every night before I go to bed). Again, I don’t have any one particular toner I like to use. I’m currently using one by Claudia Stevens I picked up at TJ Maxx a couple months ago for $2. It helps control excess oil and shine. I like it.

IMG_1894

Next step is my eye cream. I’ve been using the Bioelements Multi-Task Eye Cream (which I did a full review on awhile back and can read here if you missed it). This stuff is pretty good, but like I mentioned in my review, it’s expensive! Luckily a little goes a long way so it’ll be awhile before I’ll be on the hunt for something new (and more affordable).

Bioelements Eye Cream

And the last step is moisturizer. I’ve used different ones over the years. I used good old Olay for a long time, but then I discovered the Philosophy Hope In A Jar, which I really love, but again… expensive! But then I found a moisturizer by Physician’s Formula I really liked… sadly, it was discontinued last year. But last fall I found the Garnier Moisture Rescue gel moisturizer. I LOOOVE this stuff! I use the normal/combo skin formula (as that’s what I have). It’s super lightweight, a tiny bit goes a long way, it smells good and it sinks into my skin super fast.

IMG_0750

And that’s it! Besides following a regular skin care routine, I mostly credit my looking younger than I am to the fact I don’t smoke and I wear sunscreen whenever I’m spending a lot of time outside (remember, even on an overcast day you can get sunburned). Oh and…. good genes help too (my mom looked a lot younger than she was too and I guess I take after her in that respect… among others).

Ok that should do it for today’s post. I hope you liked it! As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope you all have a fun-filled weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

3 thoughts on “My Morning Skin Care Routine

Leave a Comment

