Review & Swatches: Makeup Academy (MUA) Lipsticks

Happy Hump Day, beauties! Hope your week is going well.

Today I have a review and swatches for you guys on some lipsticks by Makeup Academy (MUA). So let’s get going!

So Makeup Academy (MUA) created a line of lip products, makeup brushes and false lashes to be sold exclusively at CVS. Not every CVS has the full array of products available (some only carry the brushes), but some do. You can find out out which stores near you carry which products on the CVS website.

IMG_1883

First up are 2 of the High Shine Lipsticks. I got the shades 231 Rust and 227 Mulberry. Rust is a kind of rusty red-brown shade, which is in line with this year’s Pantone Color of the Year, Marsala. I wasn’t sure about this lipstick as it’s definitely out of my shade comfort zone, but I ended up liking it quite a bit. I wear this with a more subdued/neutral eye look as it’s a pretty bold lip color for me. Then there’s Mulberry, which is more of a light/bright-ish Mauve shade. I like this one a lot too. The High Shine lipsticks are infused with Vitamins A and E as well as shea butter to keep your lips conditioned and hydrated while also giving good color payoff. They have a satin/glossy finish. Both Rust and Mulberry are very pigmented and feel comfortable on the lips. Staying power is average. I get around 3 to 4 hours of wear before I notice the color is starting to fade.

Mulberry

Mulberry

Mulberry Swatch

Mulberry Swatch

Rust. It doesn't really look this orange as it does in the photo. Blame bad lighting.

Rust. It doesn’t really look this orange as it does in the photo. Blame bad lighting.

Rust swatch. See... not so orange!

Rust swatch. See… not so orange!

I also got one of the Color Intense Lipsticks. Their site says:

Color drenched long lasting lipstick. Both bold and rich, this formula glides on to deliver stay-true color and a full bodied finish.

I got shade 251 Mauve, which is a kind of cool-tone dark mauve. It’s definitely darker than I’m used to, but it’s growing on me. It’s definitely pigmented and it goes on smooth and creamy. I get around 4 hours or so of wear before it starts to fade on me.

Mauve

Mauve

Mauve swatch

Mauve swatch

The High Shine lipsticks cost $8 and the Color Intense lipsticks cost $9. Ironically, the MUA lipsticks sold in the UK only cost £1! Talk about a price difference! But like I mentioned earlier, the line sold at CVS was created exclusively for them. But sometimes CVS has sales where the MUA lipsticks are Buy One, Get One Free, which would make them technically around $4 each if you buy at least 2.

So should you check these out? Definitely! I like these lipsticks quite a bit. My only real complaint about them is the smell. They smell strongly like cheap old lady perfume. But smells don’t normally bother me, so I can overlook that. But if you’re sensitive to smells or don’t like that particular smell, you might want to steer clear of these.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried these lipsticks? Tell me your thoughts below in the comments.

As always, thanks so much for reading! I really appreciate all you guys’ support. I hope the rest of your day is fabulous and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: Makeup Academy (MUA) Lipsticks

  1. I think the high prices will be shipping ect, I work in a shop here and we sell american drinks and sweets things that sell for $1 over there cost £3 + here due to shipping, import tax ect which sucks. These colours look amazing though and I love MUA, I’d happily pay more than the £1 for the stuff over here x

    Like

  2. These look great! I have never tried anything from MUA but I have been wanting to. I know they sell it at my local CVS. Thanks for sharing and this was a great review! 🙂 xo

    Like

  3. Thanks for posting review online. I tried MUA color intense lipstick in Rose and Blossom from CVS store. The lipstick is semi matte and I like the formulation of it. I liked both colors, and right now its 30% off. MAC lipsticks are usually $17, but in Pakistan it cost $30. So yes shipping cost n profit margin could be the reason.

    Like

Leave a Comment

