Review: Rimmel London Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation

Hi everyone! Hope you all had a great weekend!

Today I have a review for you on the Rimmel London Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation. Rimmel recently repackaged this foundation from a squeeze tube to a glass bottle. I happened across the old packaging on clearance at Walgreens for around $3.50 (it normally sells for I think $7.99 there), so I grabbed one to try out as I’ve heard some halfway decent things about this foundation.

According to the product packaging, this foundation is sweat, heat and humidity proof for up to 25 hours. It also claims to be transfer resistant. It also says it’s enriched with a “revitalizing Mineral Complex and moisturizing Aqua Primer to keep skin feeling energized and hydrated all day”.

 

IMG_1666

 

I got shade 201, Classic Beige, which ended up being a pretty good match. The consistency of this foundation is very similar to my MAC Pro Longwear (and is just a hair lighter than my NW22 winter shade), which was a pleasant surprise. Now this foundation has a primer built into it, but I still wear primer like I normally do under any foundation. I’ve used both high end and drugstore primers with this foundation and they all work well with it. I’ve applied this foundation with my Expert Face Brush and stippling brush by Real Techniques and my flat top brush from Coastal Scents and all 3 brushes apply this foundation really well. It blends out quite nicely and dries to a demi-matte finish, so it’s good for those with combo to oily skin. If you have dry skin, this might adhere to dry patches and look cakey. Coverage is medium but buildable to full coverage. On me, one layer is good and I just use a little more on the areas where I need more coverage.

Staying power of this foundation is pretty good. I don’t know if it lasts up to 25 hours because really… who wears foundation for that long? But I have gotten 10 to 12+ hours of wear out of it every time I’ve worn it. We’ve had some humid days here in Florida this winter and this foundation has lasted through it. Though I’m eager for it to warm up to see how it really holds up through the heat along with the humidity. But so far, so good. As for the transfer resistant claim… well, it’s not bad but it could be better. But for a drugstore foundation, not bad at all.

Overall I really like this foundation. I’d even go as far as calling it a potential dupe for the MAC Pro Longwear, but I’ll know for sure once we get that famous Florida “Africa hot” weather later this year. I actually like this foundation so much that when I spotted another tube of the shade I got at another Walgreens (still on clearance), I grabbed it.

Ok that should do it for today. Have you tried this foundation (either in the old packaging or the new)? Did you like it? Let me know below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope the rest of your day is fabulous and I’ll see you again Wednesday with a new post! 🙂

15 thoughts on “Review: Rimmel London Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation

  1. Yeah, I don’t anyone really needs to wear foundation for that long. lol Good to know it’s very close to MAC Pro Longwear, considering the price difference. I’m going to pick it up and try it out. Thanks for the review! 🙂

    Like

  2. I also saw this on clearance a few days ago but I didn’t get it. I’m going back for it surely now! 🙂 I am generally pleased with Rimmel foundations. Have a beautiful week! Xx

    Like

  3. Why did Rimmel change the formula. The colors were better, plastic container better, formula of original better…in my opinion. N9w my sister and I are in search of discontinued.

    Like

    • I wish I knew why they changed it. Only thing I don’t like about the new version is it has SPF but now it makes it a good daytime foundation. Other than that I see no difference between the original & new version.

      Like

    • I am with you!! I’ve wore rimmel london (in the black squeeze bottle for years) And I was very disappointed when I went to the store and saw they had changed their packaging, I just assumed it was going to be the same stuff just a different bottle.. but unfortunately, to me it is not the same makeup at all!! I have been searching for this makeup since they have changed to new bottles and I cannot seem to find it anywhere.. I have a very sensitive face and I am unable to wear any other type of makeup due to breaking out!!

      Like

  4. I compared the ingredients of both versions and it is definitely NOT the same formula as the original foundation which was perfection on my face at an affordable price. The new product is thinner and coverage wears away within hours. I prefer the tube packaging too. Very disapointed with this product. Rimmel screwed up by taking a great foundation and messin with it. Bring back the original product!!!

    Like

Leave a Comment

