Review & Swatches: Twelfth Night and Winter Forest Palettes by Makeup Academy (MUA)

Happy Hump Day, beauties! How’s your week going?

Today I got a review and swatches for you guys of not one, but two eyeshadow palettes by Makeup Academy (MUA). So grab that Pop Tart and extra large coffee and let’s get to it!

Ok so Makeup Academy is a makeup brand in the UK. CVS in the States started selling some MUA products last year, but it’s just makeup brushes and some lip products. I think those might be a line actually created just for CVS, but I don’t know for sure. Anyhow, in the UK, they’re sold at Superdrug and via their website. Their products are very affordable. I luckily have some friends in the UK who were willing to go to Superdrug and pick up a palette I had my eye on (the Twelfth Night one). While they were there, they discovered both that palette and the Winter Forest palette were both on sale for £2 each (that’s $4 each US), so they picked up both (the palettes both normally retail for £4 each, which is still a great price).

IMG_1467

IMG_1468

The Twelfth Night palette comes with 12 shadows that are wintery-type shades. There’s a mix of matte and shimmer finishes. The shadows in this palette are a mix of hit and miss. Some are smooth and quite pigmented, while others are stiff and don’t have the best color payoff. But this is still a nice palette and has some fun colors to play with.

IMG_1469

TOP ROW: Ice, Myth, Frost, Oudh, Coal, Fir
BOTTOM ROW: Hush, All Spice, Ivy, Plum, Enchant, Star Shine

IMG_1515

TOP ROW: Ice, Myth, Frost, Oudh, Coal, Fir
BOTTOM ROW: Hush, All Spice, Ivy, Plum, Enchant, Star Shine

 

The Winter Forest palette contains 10 shadows and they are all matte. The colors are all very pretty. However, like the Twelfth Night palette, the shadows themselves are hit and miss. Some colors are soft and good pigmentation and others are stiff, chalky and you have to build them up to get decent color payoff.

IMG_1470

TOP ROW: Smoke, Midnight, Aqua, Azure, Camel
BOTTOM ROW: Slate, Dove Grey, Chino, Truffle, Sand

TOP ROW: Smoke, Midnight, Aqua, Azure, Camel BOTTOM ROW: Slate, Dove Grey, Chino, Truffle, Sand

TOP ROW: Smoke, Midnight, Aqua, Azure, Camel
BOTTOM ROW: Slate, Dove Grey, Chino, Truffle, Sand

A little trick though… I’ve learned that if a particular shadow is stiff/chalky and doesn’t have the best pigmentation, if you apply it wet, you get a better result. I usually prefer to apply some of my shadows wet anyway (even the ones with good color payoff) as I like more dramatic looks whenever I can do them and applying wet also helps the shadows last longer on my eyes.

So overall I like both of these palettes and I eventually want to try some more products from MUA (whenever I can sweet talk my UK friends into picking up more for me).

Ok that should do it for today! Have you been lucky enough to try any MUA products if you live in the States? To my readers in the UK, what do you think of MUA? Tell me all about it below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! I hope the rest of your day is fabulous and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: Twelfth Night and Winter Forest Palettes by Makeup Academy (MUA)

  1. Those palettes look so lovely! I have only seen MUA in my local CVS and haven’t tried any of their products yet but would like to. Maybe the line in CVS will be expanded eventually. 🙂 xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Try the lipsticks they are amazing especially for £1, I don’t know what price they are over there. I also have several of their eye palettes everything I’ve tried so far is really good especially the heaven and earth eyeshadow palette

    Like

Leave a Comment

