First Impressions: Nars Sheer Matte Foundation

Hi guys! Happy Hump Day! How’s your week going?

Been awhile since I’ve done a high-end foundation first impressions, but I got one for you today on the Nars Sheer Matte Foundation.

I got a sample of this earlier this month at Sephora to try out. I got the shade Santa Fe (medium with peachy undertone), which was a really good match. A full size bottle of this foundation contains the standard 1 fl. oz. of product and costs $45, which is definitely on the spendy side.

Nars Sheer Matte

Here’s a product description (from the Nars website):

An oil-free, soft-matte-finish foundation with sheer, buildable coverage that controls shine throughout the day while evening the skin tone. Replete with skincare benefits and the NARS Complexion Brightening Formula, it leaves skin more luminous, softer and smoother. Used daily, Sheer Matte Foundation improves the skin’s brightness and texture.

  • For normal, normal-to-oily and oily skin types
  • Oil free; absorbs oil and controls shine
  • Contains powerful anti-oxidants to protect against damaging free radicals and turmeric extract to improve skin’s radiance and tone
  • Dermatologist tested. Non-comedogenic. Fragrance free.

The texture of this foundation was on the thick/creamy side, which surprised me. It goes on and blended out really nicely (I used my Real Techniques Stippling Brush to apply). It does dry kind of fast, you have to work kind of quickly. The coverage isn’t bad. It’s definitely a sheer to medium coverage foundation, but it is buildable to a point. I wore it on a day where I wasn’t doing much except running a couple quick errands, so it was enough coverage for me to get by on for that. But if you’ve been following my blog, you’ll know I’m a full coverage girl when it comes to foundation. It does dry to a matte but not flat finish, which looked really nice. I like my matte finish but sometimes it can leave your skin looking kind of dull.

The staying power of this foundation is pretty good. After about 7 hours of wear it still looked really nice and had not faded at all. It helped control my oil decently as I only had to use my blotting sheets once while wearing this foundation.

So…. this foundation overall impressed me. My only real complaint is it only offers sheer to medium coverage, but I know some of you out there only need that much (lucky girls).  And I guess my only other complaint is the price (it costs more than both my Bare Minerals and MAC foundations). But if you can afford it and are looking for a foundation that offers this kind of coverage and finish, check it out.

Have you tried this foundation by Nars? Do you like it? Let me know below in the comments.

I hope you enjoyed today’s post and as always thank you all so much for reading and your support! Have a good one and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

15 thoughts on “First Impressions: Nars Sheer Matte Foundation

  1. Cool, I haven’t tried this before! I haven’t actually heard of it either, I’ve only read the raves about Sheer Glow. This seems like it’ll suit me more though since it’s matte. 🙂 Thank you for your opinion!

    Like

  2. Great review! This foundation sounds really nice! I would love to try it but the price is a bit high for me. Maybe eventually I will give in and give a try though. 🙂 For now I wear drugstore foundations. I haven’t tried anything from Nars yet but am so tempted to try their radiant concealer. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

