Review: Revlon Colorstay 24 Hr Foundation

Welcome to another Monday! Hope you had a good weekend!

Before I get started I wanted to remind ya’ll there’s still time to enter my giveaway to mark my blog reaching 500 followers. Click here to go to that post for details on how you can enter!

Today I have a review for you guys on the Revlon Colorstay 24 Hr foundation.

I know, I know… Me? A drugstore foundation? Well, hear me out.

You know I love my high end foundations. I use those because I have had such awful luck with drugstore ones over the years. Well, the drugstore makeup has really been improving over the years by leaps and bounds. And I’ve always had some drugstore staples in my makeup collection for as long as I can remember. So I finally decided to start trying out some drugstore foundations again to see how they’ve come along. I love, love, love my MAC Pro Longwear foundation and heard the Revlon Colorstay is a dupe for both the Pro Longwear and the MAC Studio Fix Fluid foundation. I had a coupon for $2 off any Revlon face product, so I decided to give the Colorstay a try. This foundation costs anywhere from $9.99 to $12.99 depending on where you purchase it. I got it at Target for $9.99 (but then had that $2 off coupon so it was $7.99 before tax). It also comes in 20 shades, which gives a lot of options for all sorts of skin tones.

IMG_1324

Now, matching your foundation shade in a drugstore brand is really tricky because most times they don’t have testers and you’re not supposed to open the regular bottles (which are usually sealed anyway). Plus the fluorescent lighting in the store isn’t helpful either. I ended up taking my MAC foundation bottle with me to Target and did my best to compare shades that way. In the Pro Longwear, my winter shade is NW22 (summer shade is NW25). For the Revlon Colorstay, I picked shade 240 Medium Beige as it was the closest match I could get to my MAC. In case you didn’t know, the Revlon Colorstay foundation comes in two formulas – one for normal/dry skin and one for oily/combo skin. Since I’m the latter, that’s the one I got.

Ok now onto the good stuff…

The consistency of this foundation is a lot thicker than I was expecting. But I like it. I wish this foundation came with a pump as it would make it much easier to dispense and not waste too much product. What I do though is after shaking the bottle, I use a Q-Tip to scoop a little out at the top and put on the back of my hand. That solved that issue for the most part. The shade I picked ended up being just a tad lighter than my MAC Pro Longwear, but that was perfectly ok because this foundation oxidizes a little and on me it oxidizes to the perfect shade. I’ve used 3 different brushes to apply this foundation (my Expert Face Brush and Stippling Brush from Real Techniques and my Bionic Flat Top Buffing brush from Coastal Scents) and all 3 brushes have worked well in applying. It does dry kind of fast, so you have to work quickly blending it in. It covers up all my problem areas really well. The foundation dries to a matte finish, which I love and since it’s the formula for oily/combo skin, it helps control oil as well.

Oh I wanted to note I have used lots of different primers (both high end and drugstore) with this foundation and they all worked well with it.

So let’s talk about lasting power. This foundation claims to last up to 24 hours. But seriously…. who wears foundation for 24 hours? I will say this foundation is definitely long lasting though. It’s routinely gotten me though 12+ hours of wear (after around maybe 10 hours I’ll see a little shine peeking through). So touch-ups when wearing it have been very minimal for me. It claims to be transfer resistant and it kind of is to a point, but it does come off a little after awhile. It doesn’t flake off, but if you use too much, it can look cakey (but that can be the case with just about any other foundation out there, high end of drugstore).

The verdict? I’ve been using this foundation almost every day for the last fewΒ weeks. I haven’t even touched my MAC foundation (I’m trying to basically save the good stuff for special occasions now to make it last longer). So yeah I really like this foundation a lot and it’s a good alternative to my high end ones. Do I recommend giving this foundation a try? Absolutely (especially if you’re looking for something affordable that gives you a nice matte finish)! Just be sure to get the formula that’s suited best for your skin type.

Ok that should about do it for today! Have you tried this foundation? Tell me your thoughts about it below in the comments.

As always thank you all so much for reading! I hope the rest of your day is great and I’ll see you again Wednesday with a new post! πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “Review: Revlon Colorstay 24 Hr Foundation

  1. I absolutely fell in love with this product after getting fed up of using my regular cheaper foundation (Rimmel Match). I wanted to treat myself to a more expensive foundation and after reading up on reviews I just had to get my hands on it. I was so surprised with the coverage this foundation offers, it has a great consistency and covers up spots and marks perfectly! I agree with you, it can be hard finding a drugstore alternative especially after using Mac but this product succeeded my expectations! I am glad I have found someone who shares my love for this product xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s great you finally found a good drugstore foundation. I have no luck with them but I keep hearing everybody rave about this one. It’s hard for me to stray from department store since I’ve had better luck with those though.

    Like

  3. Pingback: 10 Products I Would Repurchase TAG -

  4. Pingback: 10 Products I Would Repurchase TAG

Leave a Comment

