How Long Does Makeup Last?

Happy 2015 everyone!

I thought I’d kick off the new year with a post that is probably beneficial to a lot of us makeup lovers. Have you ever wondered, “Does makeup expire? When should I replace my *insert product here*?” Well…. wonder no more! Yes makeup does expire. I did some research and here’s a guide to follow when replacing various makeup products.

Most makeup, hair and skincare products actually have a graphic imprinted on their packaging these days showing how long that particular product is good for after opening/the first use. Look for a little graphic of what looks like a little jar with a number printed inside (like 12M, which would mean 12 months). Like this:

Makeup expiration

 

Ok so let’s get to it!

 

MASCARA

Maybelline Great Lash Waterproof

Most say you should replace your mascara every 3 months. However I’ve discovered you can keep it for up to 6 months if you want.

 

LIQUID FOUNDATION

Revlon ColorStay

This stuff is good usually for up to 12 months (though there are some who say to toss it after 6 months).

 

POWDERS (FOUNDATION, EYE SHADOW, BLUSH, ETC.)

smashbox photo op eyeshadow trio(1)

This is for your powder foundation, setting powders, powder blushes, powder highlighter, powder eye shadow… any kind of powder makeup product. The consensus says these can last up to at least 2 years, thought I know I have some eye shadows I’ve kept even longer (like my Urban Decay Mariposa palette, which I’ve owned since it came out in 2011).

 

LIPSTICK

NYX Round Case Lipstick

Lipsticks are good for up to 2 years. These things do go bad though as I recently found an old Clinique lipstick in a drawer that was anywhere from 7 to 10 years old and it was… gross.

 

LIP GLOSS

On the other hand, lip gloss is good for 12 to 18 months.

 

PRIMERS

Hourglass Primer

I checked all my primers and they are good anywhere from 12 to 18 months.

 

PENCILS

NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil

This goes for both eye, brow and lip pencils and both the regular kind, retractable, gel, kohl, jumbo…. any kind of pencil product. These are good for up to 2 years. I also recently found an old eye pencil I’ve had since 1997 (it was one of my grandmother’s that she never used and I claimed it after she died that year). Again…. gross.

 

LIQUID EYE LINER

ELF Liquid Liner

According to my research, these are good anywhere from 3 to 6 months (just like mascara).

 

LIQUID/CREAM SHADOW, BLUSH & CONCEALER

MUFE Cream Shadow

These are usually good for 6 to 12 months.

 

And there you have it!

I hope you enjoyed today’s post and as always thank you so much for reading! I hope you all have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! šŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “How Long Does Makeup Last?

Leave a Comment

