Review & Swatch: Maybelline ColorSensational Creamy Matte Lipstick

Happy Friday! Can you believe we’re less than a week away from Christmas? Have you gotten all your shopping done yet?

Today I got a review and swatch of one of the new Maybelline ColorSansational Creamy Matte lipsticks for you guys. I had been hearing a lot about these lipsticks recently and decided to finally check them out as I wanted to see for myself how they are. I also had a coupon for $1 off so… why not, right? These lipsticks cost between $5.50 and $8 depending on where you buy it.

IMG_0849

So these lipsticks claim to be made of pure pigment and contains 3 oils to be creamy and non-drying while delivering bold color with a matte finish. Usually matte lipsticks and I don’t get along because they’re usually drying and not comfortable to wear as a result. So hearing a lot of hype about these new ones from Maybelline got me curious.

IMG_0851

I picked up shade 660, Touch of Spice, which is a beautiful mauve shade, which is all the rage right now thanks to Kylie Jenner (I’m personally not a fan but hey if she makes my go-to lip color the latest trend, well… okay then). As always when wearing a matter lip color, I exfoliated beforehand with my ELF lip exfoliator (which I did a full review on that you can read here). Anyhow, this lipstick really surprised me as it is very creamy and goes on super smooth (which is not common when it comes to matte lipsticks). It doesn’t dry my lips out at all and as a result felt comfortable on my lips. The pigmentation is really good and you don’t have to swipe it across your lips a bazillion times to get good color payoff. It wears for a good amount of time too. I think it was maybe 4 or 5 hours before I noticed it was starting to fade a bit, but it fades pretty evenly instead of some weird pattern on my lips.

I want to note these lipsticks do have a scent, so if you’re sensitive to smells, you might want to stay away from this one. The funny thing was to me, the smell was really familiar and I was totally wreaking my brain trying to figure out what it reminded me of. Finally after a few days it hit me… it smells (to me) like a package of Red Vines licorice! I love Red Vines so the smell of this lipstick doesn’t bother me at all. If anything, it makes me want Red Vines!

So yeah I was really impressed with how this lipstick felt and performed. I would definitely repurchase this lipstick when mine runs out. If you’re a fan of matte lipsticks, I highly recommend checking these new ones from Maybelline out.

Ok that should do it for today! As always, thank you so much for reading. I hope you all have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Review & Swatch: Maybelline ColorSensational Creamy Matte Lipstick

Leave a Comment

