Review: Coastal Scents Makeup Brushes

Happy Wednesday! Hope your week is going well.

Today I’ll be doing a review of some makeup brushes I got from Coastal Scents. If you haven’t heard of Coastal Scents, they’re a makeup company located in Naples, Florida. They offer a full line of affordable makeup, brushes and even sell the ingredients to create your own makeup (if you have the know-how). Coastal Scents does not test on animals and they only support suppliers who do the same.

I had been wanting to try their makeup brushes for awhile and recently they had a bunch of their brushes on sale for $1 and $3 each (price depended on the type of brush). I couldn’t pass up an opportunity like that, so I ordered 4 brushes: the Classic Large Angled Blush Brush (synthetic bristles), Classic Large Tapered Powder Brush (synthetic bristles), Classic Precision Small Pencil Brush (synthetic bristles) and the Classic Small Fan Brush (natural bristles). What do I think of these brushes? Let’s find out!

L-R: Large Angled Blush Brush, Large Tapered Powder Brush, Small Fan Brush & Small Pencil Brush

L-R: Large Angled Blush Brush, Large Tapered Powder Brush, Small Fan Brush & Small Pencil Brush

Let me start off by saying shipping was pretty fast. I ordered the brushes on a Monday evening and they arrived Friday the same week. But… I also live in the same state they’re located, so you might want to keep that in mind. The brushes came in a pretty pink bubble envelope. Inside, the brushes were individually wrapped and in a nice black organza bag, which was wrapped in tissue paper with the Coastal Scents logo. They also included a sticker that says “I *heart* Makeup” and a little 4 shadow sampler of their Revealed palette (which many have said contains a lot of dupes for the Urban Decay Naked palettes).

IMG_0716

These brushes are very soft, which I like. Pretty much all their brushes come in both synthetic and natural bristle versions. This is a nice option as I know some people prefer synthetic brushes while others prefer natural brushes. I personally can go either way. I like the type that works the best with my makeup. Let’s just break these brushes down one by one…

The Large Tapered Powder Brush is big and like I mentioned already, very soft. It picks up product pretty well. I’ve been using this to apply my finishing powders (I usually use the NYX HD finishing powder or Almay loose finishing powder) and so far it’s worked good. It gives me a nice dusting of powder and lets me buff it out across my face. I’ve had no issues with it yet. The handle is kind of long and fat, but I kind of like that. It’s just tricky if you keep all your brushes in one storage cup (I keep my brushes separated by type – eyes & face – which makes it easier to find a particular brush).

IMG_0713

Large Tapered Powder Brush (BR-C-S43)

The Large Angled Blush Brush also picks up product well. I have to be careful when using this brush because I sometimes pick up too much product and end up looking a little like a clown when I apply my blush (whoops!), but once I buff it out, it doesn’t look bad. I just have to remember to use a light hand when using this brush.

Large Angled Blush Brush (BR-C-525)

Large Angled Blush Brush (BR-C-S25)

The Small Fan Brush is perfect for applying highlight on my cheekbones (which is the reason I got it). I actually like using my Milani Bella Eyes shadow in Bella Chiffon as a cheek highlighter and this brush picks up just the right amount of product. Looking forward to trying this brush with other highlighters soon.

Small Fan Brush (BR-C-)

Small Fan Brush (BR-C-N39)

The Small Pencil Brush is great for when I want to give my crease a little extra definition and for smoking out color along my bottom lash line. This brush is the perfect size for those small spaces.

Small Pencil Bush (BR-C-S53)

Small Pencil Bush (BR-C-S53)

So yeah, so far I’m pretty impressed with these brushes from Coastal Scents. I plan to try some more of their brushes sometime. I also recently purchased one of their eyeshadow palettes, which I’ll be doing a review on in the next couple weeks, so stay tuned for that!

Ok that should do it for today’s post. I hope you enjoyed it.

As always, thank you so much for reading! I hope you have a great day and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Review: Coastal Scents Makeup Brushes

  1. Great review, I need to try these. I saw the sale and have no clue why I passed it up! And I had no idea CS was based out of Naples! I live like 2.5 hours away! I wonder if they have a physical store?

    Like

Leave a Comment

