First Impressions: YSL Fusion Ink Foundation

Hi everyone! Happy December! Wait… December? Wow where has this year gone? Did you have a good weekend?

Today I’ll be giving my first impressions of the YSL Fusion Ink Foundation. This foundation contains just 0.84 oz. of product (compared to the 1 oz. most products contain) and costs a whopping $60! Yikes!

YSL Fusion InkHere’s a product description from the Sephora website (I couldn’t get the YSL site to come up for me for some reason):

What it is:
A revolutionary, fine-as-ink foundation with broad spectrum SPF 18 that perfects the skin while it wears weightlessly for 24 hours.

What it does:
Get all-day comfort, broad spectrum sun protection, and a soft-matte finish with this featherweight foundation that suits every skin type. Its innovative hybrid stain technology provides a lightweight yet high-coverage formula, and its exclusive extendable polymers offer buildable coverage that lasts for a flawless finish.

I had seen this foundation used in some YouTube videos and I was curious to check it out myself even though it’s seriously on the spendy side, so I went to Sephora and got a sample. At first, I was matched with the shade BD20 Warm Ivory, but it was WAY too light. I looked like a ghost with it on. So I finally made it back to Sephora a couple weeks later and got re-matched and got a sample of B40 Sand. This shade was a much better match, though still slightly too light (once I added some bronzer that took care of the issue for the most part).

This foundation goes on SO FREAKING SMOOTH. We’re talking silky smooth! A little goes a long way, which was nice to discover. It starts off as medium coverage, but you can build it up to full coverage. Even when you build it up to full coverage, it feels extremely lightweight and didn’t look cakey at all. The foundation dries to a semi-matte finish, which didn’t look too bad at all. It claims to be sweat proof, and not melt off in heat/humidity. The day I tried this foundation, it was VERY humid out (it was raining all day) and the foundation stayed put. It also claims to last up to 24 hours. Now I couldn’t test that limit, but I did wear this foundation for close to 12 hours before I noticed it was starting to fade a little around my oil slick nose and chin. So that was pretty impressive. This foundation is apparently formulated for all skin types. As you know, I have combo/oily skin and it worked pretty decently for me. And I’ve seen reviews by those with both normal and dry skin who liked this foundation a lot, so I’d say that claim is valid. Oh and this foundation contains SPF 18 (can’t forget to mention that).

So overall, this foundation was quite nice. But considering it costs $60 (which is almost twice what my MAC foundation costs), there’s no way I could purchase a full size bottle. But if you can afford it and looking for a super lightweight foundation you can build up the coverage on and still have a pretty flawless result in the end, I say check this one out. And you can always just get a sample at Sephora if you’re curious about it but don’t want to drop the cash (like me).

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this YSL foundation? What did you think of it? Tell me all about it below in the comments.

As always, thank you all so much for reading! Enjoy the rest of your day and I’ll see you again Wednesday with a new post! 🙂

Leave a Comment

